It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights Kresge databases and relevant web sites for those interested in research topics in the energy industries (oil & gas, coal, nuclear, hydropower, geothermal, solar, wind, and others). The Industry Overviews and the Data and Commodities sections cover several energy sectors, both renewable and non-renewable. For more in-depth research on specific sectors, visit the Non-renewable Energy and Renewable Energy sections.
Includes information on power capacity & generation, power plants, equipment contracts, transmission & distribution, and operations and maintenance costs. Includes information about renewable energy industries, including thermal, wind, solar, hydro, nuclear and other renewable technologies. Statistics, analyst reports, company profiles, deals, and news on the power generation industry are also included.
The first time you use this database, you will be required to register (for free) with your University of Michigan email.
IBISWorld offers a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. Reports encompass Global Markets as well as the US, Canada, and China. This database is good for searching sub-sectors within the energy industry.
Data includes reviews of most energy sources from the Monthly Energy Review and Annual Energy Review from the US Energy Information Administration. Also includes analysis and projections for energy and power use.
Energy Economics is the premier field journal for energy economics and energy finance. Themes include the exploitation, conversion and use of energy, markets for energy commodities and derivatives, regulation and taxation, forecasting, environment and climate, international trade, development, and monetary policy.
Energy Journal is the official quarterly journal of the International Association for Energy Economics. Original, refereed articles and shorter papers devoted to the dissemination of knowledge concerning energy and related topics.