Technical note:If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting at a later time. Subscription includes 25 seats which are shared across all 3 UM campuses.
Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
NOTE:
Mintel works best when you have your own account. The platform does not allow us to download complete reports to send to users. You will want to visit the site and create an account so you can save searches, download information, create presentations, and work with the Databooks. You will need to use your umich email address to create the account, however you should create a password specifically for use with Mintel.
If you wish to by-pass the AI search experience on the HOME Leap tab and view the full reports, use the INSIGHTS Expert Analysis tab. The ANALYTICS Consumer Data tab provides access to the Consumer Databooks.
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
Your EMBA MAP Team's Assigned Database:
Instructions for Kresge Library Database Exercise for MAP
1. Each group will be assigned a database.
2. You will have 10-15 minutes with your group to try searching the database. (NOTE: Choose someone to share their screen if anyone has difficulty getting into the database.)
3. Discussion questions:
4. Choose one person to report back to the class (3 min. or less): Name 2-3 reasons why the class might want to use this database for a MAP project or for creating a business plan, or for other class assignments.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Guidance on Use of AI Tools and Library Licensed Resources
Content from the electronic resources licensed by the Kresge Library, U-M University Library and other library entities on campus are governed by terms of use set out in individual vendor agreements which provide limitations on their use. In general, the terms of use governing licensed content do not make allowances for sharing content with third parties. Uploading content into an AI service or platform could be considered a violation of these terms of service.
Following guidance from the University Library, the Kresge Library suggests that you use University supported AI tools, such as U-M GPT, U-M Maizey, or other University AI services, when working with library licensed materials in order to reduce your risk of violating licensing terms of service.
If you have a need for larger scale AI analysis using licensed Library resources, we encourage you to reach out to us at kresge_library@umich.edu to discuss your research needs and ensure compliance with existing licensing agreements.
Ross Office of Action-Based Learning (OABL) AI and Machine Learning Policy
The following is an updated version of the AI and Machine Learning Policy. Thanks to additional input from faculty, we have worked to clarify the use and incorporation of AI tools into MAP research and deliverables. You can also view this updated language in your syllabus:
"If you use any advanced automated tools (artificial intelligence and/or machine learning tools such as ChatGPT, Google Gemini, Dall-E, etc.) in any way during MAP, that use must be agreed upon with the sponsor in the Letter of Engagement.
In addition, OABL requires that students cite any AI-generated material that informed their work. Students should indicate how AI tools informed their process and the final product, include representative prompts, and describe how they validated any AI-generated citations or other sources. Overall, AI use that advances the learning objectives of MAP, in particular, student professional development, aligns with the spirit of our requirements."
Further Guidance:
Academic Integrity & How to Cite UM-GPT: https://guides.lib.
Example for students of how to start a conversation with AI: https://www.
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
Accounts expire at the end of Winter term
