Kresge Research Guides: Kresge Library Resources for Entrepreneurial Action-Based Learning Projects: Nonprofit Databases

Best Resources for Nonprofits

GuideStar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Financial data for over 1.5 million nonprofits in the United States. Data includes revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets, as well as organization overviews, annual reports, key personnel, and access to IRS 990 Forms.

Foundation Directory Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- The Foundation Directory provides a comprehensive source for news and information on U.S.based foundations.
- The site includes: searchable archives of Philanthropy News Digest, Foundation Finder, Philanthropy Search Engine for the web (Sector Search), 990-PF forms, a virtual classroom with online tutorials for proposal writing, bugeting and more.

D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Information on nearly one million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada, and hundreds of thousands of companies world-wide.

Additional Resources

Associations Unlimited
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Information on nonprofit membership associations and professional societies worldwide plus IRS information for US nonprofit organizations.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Analysis of growth trends, influencing factors, competitive environment, and key issues facing industries, including information on key personnel and financials for leading publicly traded companies. Archival reports are available for each industry with some back to 2001.
- IBISWorld covers many sectors of the U.S. economy that are dominated by nonprofits, such as education, museums, libraries, etc.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.
Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis consumer profiles, and demographic issues.
- Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in Mintel and login in order to download or export data from the database.
- Incuded in Mintel is a great deal on Cause Marketing

Google Scholar Search

Nonprofit Explorer (ProPublica)

Nonprofit Explorer

Excellent freely-available (Open Access) tool to search and learn more about nonprofit organizations. From their site: "Use this database to view summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access more than 14 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001."

Kresge Library Resources for Entrepreneurial Action-Based Learning Projects: Nonprofit Databases

Best Resources for Nonprofits

Additional Resources

Google Scholar Search

Nonprofit Explorer (ProPublica)

Additional Nonprofit Research Resources