Kresge Research Guides: LA Exec MBA MAP: James Beard Foundation

Industry Research Resources

Ross databases, industry and government websites from which you can read market and industry research reports, news and articles related to your industry and companies, and find and download relevant market, consumer and related census demographic and business data.

Many of the resources use government-assigned industry classification systems to index relevant company and industry data. Here are some of the codes that will be useful for searching data sources for your project:

NAICS (North American Industrial Classification) Codes:

7225 - Restaurants and Other Eating Places

722511 - Full-Service Restaurants

7224 - Drinking Places (Alcoholic Beverages)

SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) Codes:

5812 - Eating Places

5813 - Drinking Places

Restaurant industry data and statistics

BLS - Food Services and Drinking Places: NAICS 722
The US Bureau of Labor Statistics "Industries at a Glance" series provides workforce statistics, earnings data, productivity data, and trends information.
Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis - Restaurant Sales
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) collects statistics across multiple industries including Retail Sales: Restaurants and Other Eating Places.
National Restaurant Association - Economic Indicators
The National Restaurant Association publishes data on restaurant sales, job growth, food costs, and other economic indicators about the indsutry.

Additional Research Suggestions

National Restaurant Association - Resource Library
The National Restaurant Association publishes research reports, fact sheets, guides, and articles about the industry. Some content is available to non-members for free.
Entrepreneur Magazine - How to Start and Open a Restaurant Step by Step (2023)
If you're interested in starting a restaurant business, this guide provides all the information necessary to open and operate a successful eatery.
Restaurant Business Magazine
Restaurant Business has articles about consumer trends, operations, technology, marketing, and special reports related to the industry. Note: some content requires a subscription.
National Restauant Association - Food & Beverage Trends
The National Restaurant Association reports on food and beverage trends, including what's hot and industry macro-trends.
Motley Fool - How to Solve 8 Pressing Restaurant Business Challenges
It’s easy to get overwhelmed when facing restaurant business challenges from all sides, including employee turnover, budget constraints, and fickle consumers. Tackle one issue at a time using your available resources and investing in solutions that make a difference.

The Food and Beverage Magazine Guide to Restaurant Success by Michael Politz
ISBN: 1119668956
Publication Date: 2020-05-26
A complete how-to guide with ALL you need to know to open and run a successful restaurant.

Restaurant Industry Sustainability

The Climate Reality for Independent Restaurants
The James Beard Foundation and George Washington University, Global Food Institute published this report on the economic impact of climate change on independant restaurants.
The Sustainable Restaurant Industry Association
Resources include SRA's framework for creating sustainable restaurant operations is called the Food Made Good Sustainability Standard and project examples.
Natrional Restaurant Association - Sustainability
The National Restaurant Association offers tools and resources to help you operate your business in more environmentally friendly ways.

Critical Questions in Sustainability and Hospitality by Willy Legrand (Editor); Henri Kuokkanen (Editor); Jonathon Day (Editor)
ISBN: 1003218423
Publication Date: 2023-03-27
This volume poses a set of pertinent questions that cover critical and contemporary sustainability issues in hospitality and tourism and proposes actionable solutions.

Entertainment and Hospitality Industry Research databases

IBISWorld Industry Reports
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, Look for reports on full-service restaurants and other restaurant genres.
Mintel
Mintel provides marketing intelligence for a wide scope of industries in the US and abroad. Their reports are downloadable and contain market, consumer and brand/company information. Try "sustainability" or "restaurants" as your search terms.
Euromonitor Passport
This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. 1) Search "Restaurants" and refine by geography. 2) Click the CONSUMERS tab --> LIFESTYLES tab --> on the left side of the page under EXPLORE ANALYSIS --> Choose "All" under "ANALYSIS" --> Choose "Lifestyles" under CATEGORY--> Choose "USA" under "GEOGRAPHY" (under the North America heading). Look for reports on the US Consumer.
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
Statista
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. Try "restaurant sustainability" as a search term.
EMIS Emerging Markets
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms. Search for "restaurants" and then filter to the United States.
eMarketer
eMarketer covers the digital marketplace with reports and charts on advertising spending by media, brand marketing, digital advertising, mobile apps, mobile devices, consumer behavior and experience, Ecommerce, social media usage and other topics.

Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database.

Nonprofit and Foundation Research Resources

GuideStar
GuideStar is the most complete source of information about U.S. charities and other nonprofit organizations. The directory includes profiles of nonprofits including mission, programs, financials, operations, and funding sources. It also includes Form 990 tax filings with the IRS. Also see: Foundation Directory Online

A personal account with your @umich.edu email is required to download from Guidestar. Downloads are limited to 1000 records per month. Users can register for an account while on a UM campus IP address or while connected to the UM VPN.
Foundation Directory Online (FDO)
Company Directory, Company - Nonprofits
Description: This directory show provides the most comprehensive and accurate information on U.S. grant makers and their funding activities. Profiles of US Foundations describe the programs they offer, areas of funding, types of support, and grant recipients and amounts. It also includes Form 990 tax filings with the IRS. Also see: GuideStar.