Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading and supply chain for US and foreign companies. Mergent Online also provides access to Investext analyst reports. Help guide
Technical notes: Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.
Private and public U.S and international company data, industry news, facts and figures, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Additionally, Mergent Intellect allows users to build lists of companies based on location, industry, size, etc.
Orbis
Orbis contains information about European, US, Canadian, South and Central American, Japanese, Chinese, and African companies, as well as banks and insurance companies. Financials, peer comparison, corporate ownership and deals are included.
Users are required to enter 'University of Michigan' in the 'Enter your organization's name' box to authenticate and use the database.
Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Orbis is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Data Axle
White- and yellow-pages directory listings for all US residences and businesses, supplemented with government information from the Bureau of the Census and other agencies. Additionally, Data Axle offers consumer lifestyle information that can be refined by zip code as well as information about the number of people moving into a particular neighborhood, city or state.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of ReferenceUSA."
Historic company records were created annually from Infogroup's U.S. Business Database; a snapshot of the data is saved each December. Contains company name, mailing address, SIC and NAICS codes, employee size, sales volume, latitude/longitude, and many more variables about each company. Data is available from 1997-2022 in downloadable flat files. Access requires UM login. Access the Historical Datafiles via University Library
Finding a company's supply chain
Mergent Online
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading and supply chain for US and foreign companies. Mergent Online also provides access to Investext analyst reports. Help guide
Technical notes: Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.
Member companies agree to publicly post their suppliers and locations.
Private companies, investment information and deal data
PitchBook
Search thousands of Private Equity (PE) and Venture Capital (VC) deals by hundreds of criteria. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. The Research Center has market updates, FactBooks, PlayBooks and Emerging Technology Research reports that will keep you up to date on the private market.
Technical Notes: Available to current UM Ann Arbor students only. Downloads are limited to 10 per month. Students may not publish PitchBook's data to any public forum such as a publicly available website. Students may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose. University may institute disciplinary actions against any students who intentionally misuse PitchBook's data. PitchBook must be accessed through links provided on the Library website. Authentication is Single Sign On via UMICH Web Login. Users may be asked to set a Pitchbook password at first login.
PrivCo contains business and financial research for over 600,000 non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. Search for Venture Capital (VC) fundings, private Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A) deals, Private Equity (PE) deals, and general company information. Private company profiles contain financials, corporate structure, key contacts, investors and industry information.
Technical notes: Personal account using @umich.edu email required. PrivCo Video Tutorials
Orbis M&A (formerly Zephyr)
Information about Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offering (IPO), Private Equity (PE) and Venture Capital (VC) deals, going back five years for international deals and back to 1997 for deals involving European and American companies.
Technical notes: The export/download function is designed to work best from Internet Explorer.
Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Zephyr is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Zephyr." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.
Equity Research - Analyst Reports
Mergent Online
Choose the Investext tab from the home search page to search by company, keyword, date and other fields. To view a list of analyst reports for a specific company you can also access them from the company's profile page; click on the Reports tab, then Broker Research Reports.
