Kresge Research Guides: STRAT 591 Corporate Strategy: Getting Started

Best Resources for GMBA STRATEGY 591

D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers has public and private company profiles for US and global companies. Profiles include company descriptions and history, financials and ratios, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, SWOT analysis, news, competitors, SIC industry codes, NAICS industry codes, SEC filings, and annual reports. The “Build a List” function allows users to create a company list based on numerous parameters
and filters. Industry content includes constituents and analysis that include RMA Industry Norms, MarketLine Industry Profiles, and Fredonia Focus reports.
Technical notes: Company lists downloads are limited to 100 records. If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting using the “UM users” link or at a later time.

Technical note:If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting at a later time. Subscription includes 25 seats which are shared across all 3 UM campuses.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.
Technavio
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Technavio has industry reports covering a wide variety of technologies in the communication services, consumer discretionary, consumer staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities industries.

Technical Notes: Downloading reports requires a valid @umich.edu email. Users are limited to 10 downloads per month with unlimited online report viewing.
Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel provides marketing intelligence for a wide scope of industries in the US and abroad. Their reports are downloadable and contain market, consumer and brand/company information. Their databooks allow users to create graphs and tables using the marketing data that they collect.
eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eMarketer covers the digital marketplace with reports and charts on advertising spending by media, brand marketing, digital advertising, mobile apps, mobile devices, consumer behavior and experience, Ecommerce, social media usage and other topics.

Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database.
Frost & Sullivan
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Frost & Sullivan is a research and consulting firm that tracks trends across a wide variety of industries. Examples include aerospace, agriculture, automotive, banking, electronics, energy, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, media, materials, oil & gas, security, telecom, With a strong emphasis on technology and markets, research focuses on competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Frost & Sullivan."

Email alerts available
Euromonitor Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Coverage includes consumer products, markets, and services. Statistics include product market size, company market share, brand shares, distribution, product ingredients, and packaging. Consumer behavior and economic factors are analyzed to identify future trends. Euromonitor Passport also has country profiles with economic, political, and geographic information.
Technical notes: Users may create a personal account to save results and research, create Alerts and get RSS feeds.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Euromonitor International."
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading and supply chain for US and foreign companies. Mergent Online also provides access to Investext analyst reports.
Help guide

Technical notes: Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.
Help guide
Orbis M&A (formerly Zephyr)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information about Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offering (IPO), Private Equity (PE) and Venture Capital (VC) deals, going back five years for international deals and back to 1997 for deals involving European and American companies.

Technical notes: The export/download function is designed to work best from Internet Explorer.

Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Zephyr is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Zephyr." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains articles from thousands of newspapers, trade publications, and key business magazines such as the Harvard Business Review. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Business Source Complete."
ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
Email and RSS feed alerts available.