Kresge Research Guides: LA Exec MBA MAP: Dig It

Amusement and Entertainment Industry Research

Ross databases, industry and government websites from which you can read market and industry research reports, news and articles related to your industry and companies, and find and download relevant market, consumer and related census demographic and business data. Many of the resources use government-assigned industry classification systems to index relevant company and industry data. Here are some of the codes that will be useful for searching data sources for your project:

NAICS (North American Industrial Classification) Codes:
7131 - Amusement Parks and Arcades
7139 - Other Amusement and Recreation Activities
7121 - Museums, Historical Sites, and Similar Institutions
7112 - Spectator Sports

SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) Codes:
7993 - Coin-operated amusement devices
7933 - Bowling Centers
7996 - Amusement Parks
7999 - Amusement and Recreation, nec

Below is a list of the best databases that cover these industries with consumer and market reports on these industries.

Entertainment and Hospitality Industry Research

IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, Look for reports on amusement parks, family fun centers, and arcades.
Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel provides marketing intelligence for a wide scope of industries in the US and abroad. Their reports are downloadable and contain market, consumer and brand/company information. Try "family entertainment" and "theme parks" as your search terms.
Euromonitor Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Click the CONSUMERS tab --> LIFESTYLES tab --> on the left side of the page under EXPLORE ANALYSIS --> Choose "All" under "ANALYSIS" --> Choose "Lifestyles" under CATEGORY--> Choose "USA" under "GEOGRAPHY" (under the North America heading). Look for reports on the US Consumer.
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.
SBR Net
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Monthly and annual statistics, market research, media reports and brand’s share-of-market for dozens of sports from archery and backpacking to football and basketball.
EMIS Emerging Markets
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms. Search for "family entertainment" and then filter to the United States.
eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eMarketer covers the digital marketplace with reports and charts on advertising spending by media, brand marketing, digital advertising, mobile apps, mobile devices, consumer behavior and experience, Ecommerce, social media usage and other topics.

Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database.
- Help Guide
Video tutorials:
Tutorial Access Demo

Consumer demographic data

Demographics Now
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This data tool leverages Census data to identify companies and revenues by product category in specified geographic areas around the US. It also can track population makeup of individuals on parameters such as age, gender, race, household size, household income, education attainment, marital status, and language spoken. Geographic regions can be filtered to Census tracts, core-based statistical areas, designated market area, states, counties, zip codes, and many other options.
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS. Examples of data included are Census data, Consumer Expenditure Survey and Nielsen Retail Market Power.

Technical notes: Users need to create their own account with @umich.edu email address in order to be able to save work.

Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains data from the first Census in 1790 to the present day. Using their data, the user can generate maps of population or specific demographic variables by location, as well as reports.
American Fact Finder - US Census
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys, including the American Community and Housing surveys, the Economic Census and annual Commodity Flow Survey.

Other Helpful Guides

Consumer Marketing Resources