Kresge Research Guides: ES 395 Entrepreneurial Management: Consumer

Market & Demographics Databases

Statista
- Statista covers a little bit of everything.
- Includes charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.
eMarketer
eMarketer covers the digital marketplace with reports and charts on advertising spending by media, brand marketing, digital advertising, mobile apps, mobile devices, consumer behavior and experience, Ecommerce, social media usage and other topics.

Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database.
Mintel
- Excellent resource for consumer products, demographics, multi-cultural markets, services and general marketing trends.
- Includes very current information from Simmons national survey of consumer preferences
- Exporting can be a pain – use the Kresge guide to help
Data Axle
- Several searchable database modules containing detailed information on:
  - more than 14 million U.S. businesses and employers;
  - 89 million U.S. residents;
  - 855,000 U.S. health care providers;
  - 1.5 million Canadian businesses;
  - and 12 million Canadian residents.
- Two other modules cover 50,000 new companies in the U.S. and over 300,000 U.S. new movers and homeowners each week.
Historic company records were created annually from Infogroup's U.S. Business Database; a snapshot of the data is saved each December. Contains company name, mailing address, SIC and NAICS codes, employee size, sales volume, latitude/longitude, and many more variables about each company. Data is available from 1997-2022 in downloadable flat files. Access requires UM login.
Access the Historical Datafiles via University Library
SimplyAnalytics
- Use SimplyMap to quickly create thematic maps, reports, ring studies and location analyses using extensive demographic, social, business and marketing data from many sources including the US Census, MRI and more.
Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions See Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions

Local Information

LOCAL INFORMATION (Ann Arbor area)

Ann Arbor News
Ann Arbor District Library
Ann Arbor/Ypsilanti Chamber of Commerce
Searchable by industry, business name and keyword.
US Census Guide
Consumer Expenditure Surveys

SimplyAnalytics
- Detailed Demographics--EVERYWHERE in US.
Data Axle
- For making lists of local businesses
Historic company records were created annually from Infogroup's U.S. Business Database; a snapshot of the data is saved each December. Contains company name, mailing address, SIC and NAICS codes, employee size, sales volume, latitude/longitude, and many more variables about each company. Data is available from 1997-2022 in downloadable flat files. Access requires UM login.
Access the Historical Datafiles via University Library
Regional Business News (EBSCO)
- Includes Crain’s Detroit
RSS feed alerts available.

Demographics Resources

American Factfinder (from the United State Census Bureau)

#1 source for current U.S. population data and the latest economic indicators
Data includes income, race, age, education, spending
National, state, and city level data

U.S. Census Bureau- International Data Base

Includes world population information, country rankings and summary, population pyramids, and tables.

United Nations Statistical Databases

Look at the Common Database (UNCDB) for population and economic information by country.
Use the Demographic Yearbook for population, birth, death, marriage, and divorce rates.
Search other databases such as Social Indicators or Population and Housing Census.

Mapping the Measure of America

Created by the Human Development Project and measures the "well-being of America," including health, education, and income.