Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MsE Masters of Entrepreneurship Summer Projects: Fund Finding Resources

Resources for Identifying and Contacting Funding Organizations

MsE Program - Entrepreneurial Ecosystem

Michigan Economic Development Corporation funding resources

  • MEDC listing also includes a link to the Capital Locating Tool, searchable by business stage, industry and type of funding resource

Startup Assistance at the University of Michigan

  •    Links to UM resources and funding organizations

Michigan funding resources from BBC Entrepreneurial Training and Consulting

Resources on Foundations and Grants

  • Funding sources and other information from the UM Graduate Library

SBIR

  • Small business funding

Forbes: The 12 Best Sources of Business Financing

Ann Arbor Angels

  • Membership organization of Angel investors early-stage, technology companies, with a primary focus in Southeast Michigan

Organizations to help you start planning

Here is a list of organizations that provide guidance and advice to entrepreneurs, online research and data about entrepreneurial activity, and help you identify people that you might want to contact as you progress throughout your research.

Michigan Venture Capital Association

  • Dedicated to the Michigan VC community, the MVCA includes a searchable Investor and Service Provider directory, research links and a startup jobs listing

Angel Capital Association

  • Professional and trade association focused on the success of angel investors in high-growth, early-stage ventures. Find an angel, join an angel group, and be sure to check out the Resources section including sample operational templates and best practices

Angel Resource Institute

  • One of ARI's main goals is to gather robust data on angel groups, so that the foundation and academic research community can analyze the data and produce research that informs policy makers, entrepreneurs, investors and academia

Entrepreneur.com

  • Current articles, expert columns and networking resources; scroll down the page to view the "Channels" featured on the site, including information on franchising, business opportunities and starting and growing a business

Entrepreneurship Corner (Stanford)

  • Collection of more than 1,600 videos and podcasts related to entrepreneurship, innovation, product development, and other business topics, including lectures from thought leaders in the field.

U of M Office of Technology Transfer

  • information for student entrepreneurs

Ross Alumni

  • Accessible through iMpact; search by company, industry, alumni name

Professional and Advocacy Organizations and Web Resources

America's Business Funding Directory

  • Learn about the different types of small business financing

Business.USA.gov (formerly Business.gov)

  • Government resources for small businesses including taxes, licenses and permits, statistics, and more

Business Owners' Idea Cafe

  • Interactive and creative small business website which includes message boards and articles on various entrepreneurial topics

CCH Business Owner's Toolkit

  • Includes many important forms for human resources, government contracting, taxes, incorporation, and more

Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information

  • From the Library of Congress. Discusses how to get started with a small business, how to raise capital, managing the business, marketing, doing business with government, and other topics of interest to the small business owner

eVenturing

  • Website for "high-growth entrepreneurs" with articles on marketing and operations, and more

Gaebler Ventures Resources for Entrepreneurs

  • Detailed information on starting, funding, branding and marketing, working with VC firms and more

Inc. Magazine - Startup Resource Center

  • Magazine features, expert opinions, how-to guides and resource lists related to business startups. Other resource centers to check out include the One Person Business, Franchises, Marketing, Sales and more

Minority Business Development Agency

  • This website is published by the U.S. Department of Commerce for small businesses to learn about conferences and competitions and to apply for contracting opportunities

Office of Small Business Programs

  • Published by the U.S. Department of Labor, the website contains information needed for retirement, healthcare, workers compensation, and laws essential for the small business owner.

Score (Service Corps of Retired Executives)

  • A mentoring website which also includes data on disaster preparedness and quizzes about your business

Small Business Administration

  • From the U.S. Government the Small Business Administration, this website has everything for starting a business and for existing small businesses.