Kresge Research Guides: Organizational Studies 310 Assignment: 6. Organizational Environment

What dimensions of the organization’s environment appear most important in shaping its structure and activities?

For answering this question about the organizational environment within a company, nonprofit organization or governmental body, you should use the article databases. These resources will provide articles written about these organizations in newspapers, journals, magazines, and trade journals.

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- General news resource that includes information on all news topics including business, nonprofits and governments.
- Find the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times among other news resources.
- Also includes numerous trade journals, magazines and scholarly journals on virtually all topics.
Email and RSS feed alerts available.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Great deal of business news content covering industries, companies, and general business
- Includes full text of Wall Street Journal, BusinessWeek, Dow Jones Newswires, Reuters Newswires, and other major business news publications
- Includes full text of many online sources, such as the WSJ online, business blogs, company blogs
- International coverage, including most major world news publications
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Full-text business and legal articles, legal cases, reports and related documents from numerous sources.
NewsBank
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Includes international, domestic, and Michigan-based news-related databases, including hundreds of US and international newspaper titles, United Nations documents, full text of select Michigan newspapers, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) translations for 1975-1996, and the online version of Reports, Documents, and Journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1980.

Additional Resources

ProQuest Ebook Central
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Full-text of 45,000 titles in 16 general subject areas, including Business & Economics books from publishers such as AMACOM (American Management Association), McGraw-Hill, MIT Press, and Career Press.
- eBrary provides great coverage of many topics, including business.

Additionally, be sure to go to the library catalog:

U-M Library Catalog Search (University library catalog)

Corporate Social Responsibility

ESG Direct from MSCI
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ESG Manager measures the social, environmental, and governance performance of nearly 5,000 publicly traded corporations, and industry-level CSR research. Use ESG Manager to analyze a company's significant social and environmental impacts, and download company and industry research reports covering issues such as corruption, emissions, business involvement and governance.

CSRWire
CSRWire offers easy access to hundreds of company Corporate Social Responsibility reports, as well as the latest news, views and reports in corporate social responsibility (CSR) and sustainability.
ReportAlert
ReportAlert provides announcements of the latest company–issued Corporate Responsibility (CR) and Sustainability Reports. The announcements are provided by the company or organisation issuing the new CR or Sustainability Report and include website links to the report being announced together with relevant contact details.
Fortune's Change the World list
Fortune's list is "meant to shine a spotlight on companies that have made significant progress in addressing major social problems as a part of their core business strategy."