Kresge Research Guides: Organizational Studies 310 Assignment: 3. Organizational Culture

What is the organization’s culture and how does it relate to the larger culture in which the organization operates?

For answering this question about the organizational culture within a company, nonprofit organization or governmental body, you should use the article databases. These resources will provide articles written about these organizations in newspapers, journals, magazines, and trade journals. Be sure to see the Corporate Social Responsibility section to the right, especially the ESG Manager on Campus to see how a public company responds to social issues and sustainability.

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- General news resource that includes information on all news topics including business, nonprofits and governments
- Find articles from the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times among other news resources
- Also includes numerous trade journals, magazines and scholarly journals on virtually all topics
Email and RSS feed alerts available.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Great deal of business news content covering industries, companies, and general business
- Includes full text of Wall Street Journal, BusinessWeek, Dow Jones Newswires, Reuters Newswires, and other major business news publications
- Includes full text of many online sources, such as the WSJ online, business blogs, company blogs
- International coverage, including most major world news publications
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Full-text business and legal articles, legal cases, reports and related documents from numerous sources
NewsBank
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Includes international, domestic, and Michigan-based news-related databases
- U.S. and international newspaper titles, full text of select Michigan newspapers
- United Nations documents
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) translations for 1975-1996,
- Online version of Reports, Documents, and Journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1980

PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of PsycINFO."
PsycARTICLES
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical full-text articles on current issues in peer-reviewed psychology, including articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Some journals included are: Journal of Leadership & Organizational Studies, Journal of Management & Organization, Journal of Occupational and Organizational Psychology, Journal of Business Ethics and Journal of Business and Psychology.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of PsycARTICLES."

Corporate Social Responsibility

ESG Direct from MSCI
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ESG Manager measures the social, environmental, and governance performance of nearly 5,000 publicly traded corporations, and industry-level CSR research. Use ESG Manager to analyze a company's significant social and environmental impacts, and download company and industry research reports covering issues such as corruption, emissions, business involvement and governance.

CSRWire
CSRWire offers easy access to hundreds of company Corporate Social Responsibility reports, as well as the latest news, views and reports in corporate social responsibility (CSR) and sustainability.
ReportAlert
ReportAlert provides announcements of the latest company–issued Corporate Responsibility (CR) and Sustainability Reports. The announcements are provided by the company or organisation issuing the new CR or Sustainability Report and include website links to the report being announced together with relevant contact details.
Fortune's Change the World list
Fortune's list is "meant to shine a spotlight on companies that have made significant progress in addressing major social problems as a part of their core business strategy."