Kresge Research Guides: Retail and Apparel Industry: Getting Started

Researching the Retail Industry

Research guide includes resources that you may use to find material on the Retail and Apparel industry in the United States and beyond. This primarily relates to companies and industries in the consumer-goods market.

Top Retail Industry Resources at Kresge Library

Euromonitor Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Industry, demographic, consumer and economic data for numerous countries worldwide. Includes demographic and economic forecast data, data on thousands of consumer brands, full-text market analysis reports, and Euromonitor International market data for hundreds of products in nearly 50 countries.
- Euromonitor covers the retail and consumer goods sector very well. Includes worldwide coverage in this sector.
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis consumer profiles, and demographic issues.
- Mintel is an excellent resource for retail, primarily in the Developed World.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Analysis of growth trends, influencing factors, competitive environment, and key issues facing industries, including information on key personnel and financials for leading publicly traded companies. Archival reports are available for each industry with some back to 2001.
- Great source of a large variety of retail reports on smaller sectors in the industry in the US, Worldwide and China.
ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Academic and industry-oriented business periodical literature, with full-text access to selected newspapers.
- Access to news and trade publications that cover the retail sector.
Email and RSS feed alerts available.

Chat with a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Guide Created By

Corey Seeman

Email Me

Contact:

Director, Kresge Library Services
Stephen M. Ross School of Business
University of Michigan
700 East University Avenue
Kresge Hall, 4th Floor East (or somewhere in Ypsi)
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-1234

734-717-9734