Kresge Research Guides: BA 453 Capstone MAP: Company Research

Company information and financials

Performance ratios

Industry and company financial ratios help compare a company against other companies in an industry, or generally measure financial performance. Industry ratios are an aggregate measure of performance, often broken down by company size.

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive guide (ebook)
An ideal tool for measuring corporate performance, this authoritative resource allows managers and auditors to pick and choose the tools they need to best assess their organization's performance. Each formula includes a complete description, explanation of the calculation, an example, and cautions regarding its use. The cautions are of particular use, since they describe those elements of a measurement that can be modified to deliver misleading results, different measurements that may work better in certain situations, usage on a trend line basis, and which other measurements should be used to reinforce indicated results.
16 Financial Ratios for Analyzing a Company’s Strengths and Weaknesses
From the The American Association of Individual Investors, a quick guide to company performance ratios
Financial Ratio Analysis

Company Directories

D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers has public and private company profiles for US and global companies. Profiles include company descriptions and history, financials and ratios, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, SWOT analysis, news, competitors, SIC industry codes, NAICS industry codes, SEC filings, and annual reports. The “Build a List” function allows users to create a company list based on numerous parameters
and filters. Industry content includes constituents and analysis that include RMA Industry Norms, MarketLine Industry Profiles, and Fredonia Focus reports.
Technical notes: Company lists downloads are limited to 100 records. If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting using the “UM users” link or at a later time.

Technical note:If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting at a later time. Subscription includes 25 seats which are shared across all 3 UM campuses.
PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
PrivCo contains business and financial research for over 600,000 non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. Search for Venture Capital (VC) fundings, private Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A) deals, Private Equity (PE) deals, and general company information. Private company profiles contain financials, corporate structure, key contacts, investors and industry information.
Technical notes: Personal account using @umich.edu email required.
PrivCo Video Tutorials
Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Private and public U.S and international company data, industry news, facts and figures, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Additionally, Mergent Intellect allows users to build lists of companies based on location, industry, size, etc.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading and supply chain for US and foreign companies. Mergent Online also provides access to Investext analyst reports.
Help guide

Technical notes: Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.
Help guide

Venture Capital, Private Equity and other Deals Data

Orbis M&A (formerly Zephyr)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information about Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offering (IPO), Private Equity (PE) and Venture Capital (VC) deals, going back five years for international deals and back to 1997 for deals involving European and American companies.

Technical notes: The export/download function is designed to work best from Internet Explorer.

Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Zephyr is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Zephyr." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.
PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
PrivCo contains business and financial research for over 600,000 non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. Search for Venture Capital (VC) fundings, private Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A) deals, Private Equity (PE) deals, and general company information. Private company profiles contain financials, corporate structure, key contacts, investors and industry information.
Technical notes: Personal account using @umich.edu email required.
PrivCo Video Tutorials