Kresge Research Guides: BA 453 Capstone MAP: Industry and Market Research

Multi-industry Research Resources

Industry information is critical to competitive intelligence - the key is to define your industry and to be aware that many industries are made up of smaller, private companies. In addition to using the databases below, remember to ask "Who cares?" about your industry and try to identify trade associations, government agencies and other relevant experts, professional groups and trade publications. Remember that there are many other Ross databases that focus on specific industries, such as the Sports Business Research Network or Gartner Research for technology.

IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
EMIS Emerging Markets
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms such as Allied Market Research, Arizton Advisory and Intelligence, BIS Research, BMI Research, BuddeComm Telecom Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Reports, GlobalData, MarketLine, Mordor Intelligence, and Oxford Economics.
Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in EMIS and login in order to download or export data from the database.

Other industry-specific resources

SBR Net
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Monthly and annual statistics, market research, media reports and brand’s share-of-market for dozens of sports from archery and backpacking to football and basketball.
GlobalData Medical Intelligence Center
- This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Medical covers market data and analysis for marketed products, pipeline products, clinical trials, and deals for medical devices across several sectors. Therapy areas covered include anesthesia & respiratory, cardiovascular, dental, diabetes, ENT, general surgery, in vitro diagnostics, nephrology and urology, neurology, ophthalmic, orthopedic, and wound care.
EvaluatePharma
- This link opens in a new window
EvaluatePharma is the leader in consensus forecasts of leading industry analysts and analysis of the pharmaceutical and biotechnology healthcare sectors. Information includes sales by indication, licensing deals, merger & acquisitions, venture financing, IPOs, and orphaned drugs.
For more information see the EvaluatePharma Overview page.

Technical Notes:Accounts must be requested from EvaluatePharma. Details available after iMpact login.

Accounts expire at the end of Fall, Winter and Summer semesters. Returning Ross Users will need to re-register.
Account registration and password reset request emails may end up in your email SPAM folder.

Best Resources for Information Technologies

eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Why use this?
- Great coverage of the electronic resource market
- Information on emerging technology
- Research about the Internet including online advertising and more
Video tutorials:
Tutorial Access Demo
Forrester
- This link opens in a new window
- Market, industry and technical research covering the Internet economy, web design, digital marketing, site technology, and cases.
- Specific markets include a variety of vertical industries, including automotive, B2B and consumer retail
Email alerts available.
Gartner
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Why use this?
- Great coverage of technology
- Some reports are not accessible through the library's subscription
Email alerts available