Industry & Company Performance Analysis - Strategy 557 - Apparel Industry Resources - Kresge Research Guides at University of Michigan

Finding Industry Performance Ratios

You can compile lists of companies within an industry and compare various financial data and ratios in many of the Ross company databases. You can also find specific ratio comparisons from the Risk Management Association in the D&B Hoovers database, company performance ratios in Mergent Online, and financial summary data for overall industry categories in the S&P Capital IQ database.

D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers has public and private company profiles for US and global companies. Profiles include company descriptions and history, financials and ratios, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, SWOT analysis, news, competitors, SIC industry codes, NAICS industry codes, SEC filings, and annual reports. The “Build a List” function allows users to create a company list based on numerous parameters
and filters. Industry content includes constituents and analysis that include RMA Industry Norms, MarketLine Industry Profiles, and Fredonia Focus reports.
Technical notes: Company lists downloads are limited to 100 records. If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting using the “UM users” link or at a later time.

Technical note:If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting at a later time. Subscription includes 25 seats which are shared across all 3 UM campuses.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading and supply chain for US and foreign companies. Mergent Online also provides access to Investext analyst reports.
Help guide

Technical notes: Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.
Help guide

Yahoo! Finance Industry Center
The Yahoo! Finance Industry Center is a free resource that has some excellent industry information, including performance ratios. The Industry Browser allows you to browse industries by performance rankings, including ROE, P/E ratio, market cap, price change, price to book value, profit margin, price to book value, long term debt, and more.

S&P Capital IQ
- This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies. Financial information for over 100,000 companies globally. Additional data on industries, capital structure, M&A, PE, fixed income, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, and company-level ownership information are also included. Historical and forecast macroeconomic data and historical data on over 270 commodities series, with some available to 1970.
For S&P Capital IQ Transcripts, see WRDS

Retail business analysis

Performance ratios

Industry and company financial ratios help compare a company against other companies in an industry, or generally measure financial performance. Industry ratios are an aggregate measure of performance, often broken down by company size.

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive guide (ebook)
An ideal tool for measuring corporate performance, this authoritative resource allows managers and auditors to pick and choose the tools they need to best assess their organization's performance. Each formula includes a complete description, explanation of the calculation, an example, and cautions regarding its use. The cautions are of particular use, since they describe those elements of a measurement that can be modified to deliver misleading results, different measurements that may work better in certain situations, usage on a trend line basis, and which other measurements should be used to reinforce indicated results.
16 Financial Ratios for Analyzing a Company’s Strengths and Weaknesses
From the The American Association of Individual Investors, a quick guide to company performance ratios
Financial Ratio Analysis

Strategy 557 - Apparel Industry Resources: Industry & Company Performance Analysis

Finding Industry Performance Ratios

Retail business analysis

Performance ratios