It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Strategy 557 - Apparel Industry Resources: Industry Research & Market Reports
Ross databases, industry and government websites from which you can read market and industry research reports, news and articles related to your industry and companies, and find and download relevant market, consumer and related census demographic and business data.
Many of the resources use government-assigned industry classification systems to index relevant company and industry data. Here are a couple of useful codes to know for your Strategy 557 project
North American Industry Classification (NAICS) Codes:
448140 Family Clothing Stores
448110 Men's Clothing Stores
448120 Women's Clothing Stores
448150 Clothing and Accessories Stores
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes:
5611 Men and Boys' Clothing and Accessory Stores
5621 Women's Clothing Stores
5632 Women's Accessory and Specialty Stores
5651 Family Clothing Stores
Industry trends and predictions from consultancies
Anonymous downloads are currently unavailable. You must log in to Mintel personal profile (link on the Welcome menu) in order to download.
Mintel provides marketing intelligence for a wide scope of industries in the US and abroad. Their reports are downloadable and contain market, consumer and brand/company information. Their databooks allow users to create graphs and tables using the marketing data that they collect.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS. Examples of data included are Census data, Consumer Expenditure Survey and Nielsen Retail Market Power.
Technical notes: Users need to create their own account with @umich.edu email address in order to be able to save work.
This data tool leverages Census data to identify companies and revenues by product category in specified geographic areas around the US. It also can track population makeup of individuals on parameters such as age, gender, race, household size, household income, education attainment, marital status, and language spoken. Geographic regions can be filtered to Census tracts, core-based statistical areas, designated market area, states, counties, zip codes, and many other options.
Social Explorer contains data from the first Census in 1790 to the present day. Using their data, the user can generate maps of population or specific demographic variables by location, as well as reports.
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys, including the American Community and Housing surveys, the Economic Census and annual Commodity Flow Survey.
This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Coverage includes consumer products, markets, and services. Statistics include product market size, company market share, brand shares, distribution, product ingredients, and packaging. Consumer behavior and economic factors are analyzed to identify future trends. Euromonitor Passport also has country profiles with economic, political, and geographic information.
Technical notes: Users may create a personal account to save results and research, create Alerts and get RSS feeds.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Euromonitor International."
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms such as Allied Market Research, Arizton Advisory and Intelligence, BIS Research, BMI Research, BuddeComm Telecom Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Reports, GlobalData, Grandview Research, MarketLine, Mordor Intelligence, and Oxford Economics.
Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in EMIS and login in order to download or export data from the database.
Full-text international market research reports, with coverage back to 1994. Includes topics like business services, consumer goods, food and beverages, life sciences, demographics, heavy industry and technology/media. Reports from Freedonia, Kalorama, Mind Commerce, Packaged Facts, and Paul Budde Communication are included.
Technical notes: Some older reports may be in Microsoft PowerPoint format. There is a 1 year embargo on reports from Paul Budde Communication Pty Ltd. Includes Freedonia Focus Reports.