Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Base of the Pyramid Markets: Freely Available Resources

This is a guide to support research into Base of the Pyramid (or Bottom of the Pyramid) Markets in emerging economies.

Freely Available Resources

Variety of resources that are available to all users.  

These will be updated in January 2020.

Websites

Websites/Blogs

Multiple organizations publish research related to the BoP, including:

  • Business Fights Poverty: www.businessfightspoverty.org
  • Cases from the UNDP’s Growing Sustainable Business
  • Cases from the UNDP’s Growing Inclusive Markets Initiative: www.growinginclusivemarkets.org
  • Center for Health Market Innovations: healthmarketinnovations.org
  • Cornell University BoP Global Network: https://www.bopglobalnetwork.org/
  • Development Gateway: www.developmentgateway.org
  • International Partnership for Innovative Healthcare Delivery: https://healthmarketinnovations.org/
  • MIT Press – Innovations Journal: www.mitpressjournals.org
  • Next Billion: www.nextbillion.net
  • Stanford Social Innovation Review: www.ssireview.org
  • WBCSD-SNV Alliance: https://www.wbcsd.org/Overview/News-Insights/Inclusive-Business-Insights
  • WBCSD (in particular, look at its Development initiative): www.wbcsd.org
  • WDI: https://wdi.umich.edu/knowledge-sharing/

Foundations

Foundations

Many foundations engage in BoP related activities including research, program-related investments (PRI) and venture philanthropy that provides funding to social enterprises.

  • Calvert: www.calvertfoundation.org
  • KL Felicitas: www.klfelicitasfoundation.org
  • Rockefeller: www.rockefellerfoundation.org
  • Skoll: www.skollfoundation.org
  • Social Ventures Foundation: www.socialventuresfoundation.org

Funds

Funds

Impact Investment funds invest in social enterprises that generate financial, social and/or environmental returns.

  • Aavishkaar: www.aavishkaar.in
  • Acumen Fund: www.acumenfund.org
  • Agora: www.agorapartnerships.org
  • Ashoka: www.ashoka.org
  • Dasra (India) www.dasra.org
  • Echoing Green: www.echoinggreen.org
  • First Light Ventures: http://www.grayghostventures.com/about/initiatives/firstlight.html
  • Grassroots Business Fund: www.gbfund.org
  • Grey Ghost Ventures: www.grayghostventures.com
  • IGNIA Fund: www.ignia.com.mx
  • Omidyar Network: www.omidyar.com
  • Root Capital: www.rootcapital.org
  • RSF Social Finance: www.rsfsocialfinance.org
  • Unitus Seed Fund: https://unitus.vc/