Industry and Market Research - Strategy 601 - Winter 2020 - Kresge Research Guides at University of Michigan

Multi-industry Research Resources

Industry information is critical to competitive intelligence - the key is to define your industry and to be aware that many industries are made up of smaller, private companies. In addition to using the databases below, remember to ask "Who cares?" about your industry and try to identify trade associations, government agencies and other relevant experts, professional groups and trade publications. Remember that there are many other Ross databases that focus on specific industries, such as the Sports Business Research Network or Gartner Research for technology.

Euromonitor Passport
This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Coverage includes consumer products, markets, and services. Statistics include product market size, company market share, brand shares, distribution, product ingredients, and packaging. Consumer behavior and economic factors are analyzed to identify future trends. Euromonitor Passport also has country profiles with economic, political, and geographic information.
Technical notes: Users may create a personal account to save results and research, create Alerts and get RSS feeds.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Euromonitor International."
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
EMIS Emerging Markets
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms such as Allied Market Research, Arizton Advisory and Intelligence, BIS Research, BMI Research, BuddeComm Telecom Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Reports, GlobalData, MarketLine, Mordor Intelligence, and Oxford Economics.
Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in EMIS and login in order to download or export data from the database.
BCC Research
BCC has market research reports across many industries including: Biotechnology, Chemicals, Consumer Products, Energy, Engineering, Environment, Finance, Food and Beverage, Fuel Cell and Battery Technologies, Healthcare, Information Technology, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Materials, Medical Devices, Nanotechnology, Photonics, Plastics, and Semiconductors. It also includes “Franchise Profiles” of companies who franchise some of their locations.
Frost & Sullivan
Global market analysis, technology and industry-specific research reports.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Frost & Sullivan."

Email alerts available

Healthcare, medical devices, pharmaceutical industry research

GlobalData Medical Intelligence Center
Medical device market data and analysis, company and product information for over 80 countries, including marketed and pipeline products, clinical trials, devices and deals. Therapy areas covered include Anesthesia & Respiratory, Cardiovascular, Dental, Diabetes, ENT, Nephrology and Urology, Neurology, Ophthalmic and Othopedic.
EvaluatePharma
EvaluatePharma is the leader in consensus forecasts of leading industry analysts and analysis of the pharmaceutical and biotechnology healthcare sectors. Information includes sales by indication, licensing deals, merger & acquisitions, venture financing, IPOs, and orphaned drugs.

Technical Notes:Accounts must be requested from EvaluatePharma. Details available after iMpact login.

Accounts expire at the end of Fall, Winter and Summer semesters. Returning Ross Users will need to re-register.
Account registration and password reset request emails may end up in your email SPAM folder.
American Hospital Directory
The American Hospital Directory includes data on hospital facilities in the US including, number of beds, number of employees, ownership type (govt., private, public), revenue, visits, services provided, patient days, discharges, and more. Most data is obtained from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Technical notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from AHD.com is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.

Best Resources for Information Technologies

eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Why use this?
- Great coverage of the electronic resource market
- Information on emerging technology
- Research about the Internet including online advertising and more
Forrester
- This link opens in a new window
- Market, industry and technical research covering the Internet economy, web design, digital marketing, site technology, and cases.
- Specific markets include a variety of vertical industries, including automotive, B2B and consumer retail
Email alerts available.
Gartner
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Why use this?
- Great coverage of technology
- Some reports are not accessible through the library's subscription
Email alerts available

Strategy 601 - Winter 2020: Industry and Market Research

Multi-industry Research Resources

Healthcare, medical devices, pharmaceutical industry research

Best Resources for Information Technologies