It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ES 250 Introduction to Entrepreneurship: Company Research
From the Knowledge@Wharton site, the author says that in "a world rapidly switching to digital business models, the old ways of classifying industries and measuring business performances do not suffice."
Founders and Funders provides this infographic and article on the process and the concepts behind valuation
Company information and financials
Industry and company financial ratios help compare a company against other companies in an industry, or generally measure financial performance. Industry ratios are an aggregate measure of performance, often broken down by company size.
An ideal tool for measuring corporate performance, this authoritative resource allows managers and auditors to pick and choose the tools they need to best assess their organization's performance. Each formula includes a complete description, explanation of the calculation, an example, and cautions regarding its use. The cautions are of particular use, since they describe those elements of a measurement that can be modified to deliver misleading results, different measurements that may work better in certain situations, usage on a trend line basis, and which other measurements should be used to reinforce indicated results.
Profiles for nearly twenty-four million companies world-wide. Includes contacts and emails, analysis of company operations, actions and changes, plus additional data points such as technologies used at a company. OneSource also includes RMA Industry performance ratios, analyst and industry research reports for each company.
PrivCo contains business and financial research for over 600,000 non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. Search for Venture Capital (VC) fundings, private Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A) deals, Private Equity (PE) deals, and general company information. Private company profiles contain financials, corporate structure, key contacts, investors and industry information.
Technical notes: Personal account using @umich.edu email required.
Global directory of public, private, and home-based businesses featuring data from the Hoover's and Dun & Bradstreet directories. Available financial data, executive contacts, and company family trees are included.
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading and supply chain for US and foreign companies. Mergent Online also provides access to Investext analyst reports. Help guide
Technical notes: Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.
Information about Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offering (IPO), Private Equity (PE) and Venture Capital (VC) deals, going back five years for international deals and back to 1997 for deals involving European and American companies.
Users are required to enter 'University of Michigan' in the 'Enter your organization's name' box to authenticate and use the database.
Technical notes: The export/download function is designed to work best from Internet Explorer.
Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Zephyr is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Zephyr." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.