Kresge Research Guides: STRATEGY 302 Business Strategy : Airlines: Industry Research & Market Reports

Industry Research Resouces

Ross databases, industry and government websites from which you can read market and industry research reports, news and articles related to your industry and companies, and find and download relevant market, consumer and related census demographic and business data.

Many of the resources use government-assigned industry classification systems to index relevant company and industry data. Here are some of the codes that will be useful for searching data sources for your project:

North American Industry Classification Code (NAICS):

481111 - Scheduled Passenger Air Transportation

Standard Industry Classification Code (SIC):

4512 - Air Transportation, Scheduled

Airline industry and market research resources

Euromonitor Passport
Country-based travel industry coverage includes airline industry research and data, consumer travel and expenditure data, and detailed airline company reports.
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
IBISWorld Industry Reports
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Mintel
Mintel's airline industry coverage includes market reports on Airlines in the US and Budget Airlines in the US. Reports cover standard market share and related data, and also feature excellent coverage of consumer preference, buying habits and other behavior-related survey data.
S&P Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies. Financial information for over 100,000 companies globally. Additional data on industries, capital structure, M&A, PE, fixed income, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, and company-level ownership information are also included. Historical and forecast macroeconomic data and historical data on over 270 commodities series, with some available to 1970.
For S&P Capital IQ Transcripts, see WRDS

Airline and Airport Data and Statistics

Department of Transportation - Airline and Airport Statistics
Links to statistics sets available from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, including: airline financial, traffic and related data, and other per carrier fare, flight and passenger information.
IATA Business Intelligence and Statistics
The International Air Transport Association offers data on airline safety, traffic and passenger historical and forecast data. The industry association also offers selected data from the World Air Transport Statistics Yearbook.
IATA Economics
IATA's Economics data include monthly analyses on air passengers, freight and premium traffic, and periodic industry economic and business confidence reports on the commercial airline industry.
Airlines for America - Data and statistics
National industry organization provides additional data and information regarding the economic, social and security issues affecting the airline industry. The annual Industry Review and Outlook is a great overview of the US industry.