Kresge Research Guides: SI 663Innovation Leadership in the Information Industry Assignment (Information Industry): International Resources

International Business Resources

FitchConnect
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides economic, political, and industry sector analysis for 175 countries. Information is divided into BMI Reports, Data and Forecasts, and Alerts and Analysis.
FitchConnect training videos:
Macro Overview-Country Risk, Industry Risk, Global Research, Interactive Charts.

Country Risk and Industry Research search for multiple countries and industries

Interactive Charts

Indices, Databases, Data Tools, Webinars and Support
EMIS Emerging Markets
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International news, economic statistics, market quotes and analyst reports on countries, companies, and industries. This database is provided by the Kresge Library and the Center for International Business Education. Includes resources for Asia, Latin America, Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as Australia.
Euromonitor Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Industry, demographic, consumer and economic data for numerous countries worldwide. Includes demographic and economic forecast data, data on thousands of consumer brands, full-text market analysis reports, and Euromonitor International market data for hundreds of products in nearly 50 countries.
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Analysis of growth trends, influencing factors, competitive environment, and key issues facing industries, including information on key personnel and financials for leading publicly traded companies. Archival reports are available for each industry with some back to 2001.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.

Freely Available International Business Resources

United States Government Resources

U.S. Department of State- Background Notes

U.S. Department of State- Archive of Country Commercial Guides - Country Commercial Guides from 1996 - 2001

U.S. Department of State- Business Center - Links for international markets

Library of Congress- Country Studies

CIA- World Factbook

World Bank Resources

Doing Business.org

Compares non-monetary costs (time, regulations etc.) between countries and provides great overviews of the economic conditions.

Additional Internet Resources

Executive Planet

Business culture and etiquette guides for each major country

International Business Etiquette and Manners

Cultural and business advice on select countries and regions

globalEDGE

Freely available resource from Michigan State University
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
Great source for country reports, state reports, and other information.

Hints for Finding International Market Information

There are some great resources for learning about foreign markets and economies.
For smaller countries, you may not find individual country reports - but regional reports (Sub-Saharan Africa or Central America for example).