Kresge Research Guides: SI 663Innovation Leadership in the Information Industry Assignment (Information Industry): Industry Databases

Best Resources for Information Industry

eMarketer
- Excellent resource on elements of the Internet Economy & Information technology.
- Includes numerous tables, charts and brief articles
Gartner
- News, research, analysis, and events about technology markets and industries, with focus on technology workers, vendors, and investors.
- Includes Hype Cycle Reports for social media and other developing technologies.
- Please note that not all Gartner content is included in this subscription.
Email alerts available
Mintel
- Research reports provide excellent coverage of consumer demographics, consumer goods and services.
- Additional reports cover the U.S. and European marketplaces
- Reports combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis consumer profiles, and demographic issues
Statista
Includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls

Other Recommended Industry Resources

Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
- Includes some general reports on technology and information industry (as well as company briefs on the leading players in that space)
- Useful for tracking technology advancements and trends, strategic planning, competitive analysis, market awareness, implementation support and product and vendor evaluation
- Reports on ebusiness and Internet strategies, wireless communications, application development, IT asset management and related fields
Euromonitor Passport
- Industry, demographic, consumer and economic data with forecasts for numerous countries and consumer brands worldwide
- Full-text market analysis reports and Euromonitor International market data for hundreds of products in nearly 50 countries
- Some good material on technology adoption as it relates to individual industry segments, primarily with consumer goods
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
IBISWorld Industry Reports
- Great coverage of industries in the United States, China and globally.
- You may search for keywords or company names, which help track down relevant reports.
- Industry iExpert Summaries (for the United States) help identify smaller segments of the US economy.
MarketResearch.com Academic
- Full-text international market research reports, with coverage back to 1994
- Includes topics like business services, consumer goods, food and beverages, life sciences, demographics, heavy industry and technology/media
- Many reports will touch upon information industry and techonolgy adoption as it relates to individual industry segments
Video tutorial

Google Scholar Search

Hints for Finding Industry Information

Remember that not all industry segments receive individual reports.
Many smaller industry segments are pages or paragraphs in larger reports.
You can start your search in Google, but you will very likely only find resources that are not available on campus at Michigan.
Do not skip the executive summary, sometimes that will be the only part of a report that you can get access to.