Michigan Surgical Innovation Accelerator (MSIA) Resources: General Health Care Resources
Kresge Resources with UM portal access for MSIA program which supports the commercialization of early-stage medical devices and technologies. Led by Michigan Medicine faculty and residents. Contact: Nathaniel Edwards njedward@umich.edu
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms such as Allied Market Research, Arizton Advisory and Intelligence, BIS Research, BMI Research, BuddeComm Telecom Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Reports, GlobalData, MarketLine, Mordor Intelligence, and Oxford Economics.
Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in EMIS and login in order to download or export data from the database.
BMI Research provides market insights, analysis, and forecasts that identify and assess economic, political, and country risks and opportunities across 200+ markets and 20+ industries. Data includes 30+ years of country risk data for over 200 countries, and sector reports for agribusiness, autos, banking & financial services, commodity prices, consumer & retail, consumer electronics, defense & security, oil & gas, insurance, food & drink, freight transport & shipping, information technology, infrastructure, medical devices, metals, mining, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals & healthcare, power, real estate, renewables, telecommunications, and tourism.
Bulk data downloads for macroeconomic, political, and industry indicators for 200+ geographies are also available.
Sign in is via SSO. Select SSO tab at login screen.
Enter 'UMich' as the Organization ID.
GlobalData Medical covers market data and analysis for marketed products, pipeline products, clinical trials, and deals for medical devices across several sectors. Therapy areas covered include anesthesia & respiratory, cardiovascular, dental, diabetes, ENT, general surgery, in vitro diagnostics, nephrology and urology, neurology, ophthalmic, orthopedic, and wound care.
*Data downloading is not available.
World Bank Publications
The World Bank publishes on two distinct platforms. Both platforms provide Open Access content free to all.
The World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Specific series and countries/groups can be selected for specific year ranges, and data can be exported.
Frost & Sullivan is a research and consulting firm that tracks trends across a wide variety of industries. Examples include aerospace, agriculture, automotive, banking, electronics, energy, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, media, materials, oil & gas, security, telecom, With a strong emphasis on technology and markets, research focuses on competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Frost & Sullivan."
Email alerts available
Additional Resources for the Health Care Industry (in Developing Countries)
BCC has market research reports across many industries including: Biotechnology, Chemicals, Consumer Products, Energy, Engineering, Environment, Finance, Food and Beverage, Fuel Cell and Battery Technologies, Healthcare, Information Technology, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Materials, Medical Devices, Nanotechnology, Photonics, Plastics, and Semiconductors. It also includes “Franchise Profiles” of companies who franchise some of their locations.
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.
ThomsonONE
ThomsonOne will no longer be available as of February 29, 2020. Access with be available in Kresge Library on the Eikon Terminal starting Tuesday, March 3, 2020.
