Michigan Surgical Innovation Accelerator (MSIA) Resources: Getting Started

D&B Hoovers has public and private company profiles for US and global companies. Profiles include company descriptions and history, financials and ratios, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, SWOT analysis, news, competitors, SIC industry codes, NAICS industry codes, SEC filings, and annual reports. The “Build a List” function allows users to create a company list based on numerous parameters
and filters. Industry content includes constituents and analysis that include RMA Industry Norms, MarketLine Industry Profiles, and Fredonia Focus reports.
Technical notes: Company lists downloads are limited to 100 records. If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting using the “UM users” link or at a later time.

Technical note:If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting at a later time. Subscription includes 25 seats which are shared across all 3 UM campuses.

Technavio has industry reports covering a wide variety of technologies in the communication services, consumer discretionary, consumer staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities industries.

Technical Notes: Downloading reports requires a valid @umich.edu email. Users are limited to 10 downloads per month with unlimited online report viewing.

BCC has market research reports across many industries including: Biotechnology, Chemicals, Consumer Products, Energy, Engineering, Environment, Finance, Food and Beverage, Fuel Cell and Battery Technologies, Healthcare, Information Technology, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Materials, Medical Devices, Nanotechnology, Photonics, Plastics, and Semiconductors. It also includes “Franchise Profiles” of companies who franchise some of their locations.

IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.

Frost & Sullivan is a research and consulting firm that tracks trends across a wide variety of industries. Examples include aerospace, agriculture, automotive, banking, electronics, energy, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, media, materials, oil & gas, security, telecom, With a strong emphasis on technology and markets, research focuses on competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets.

Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.

Associations Unlimited (previously known as the Encyclopedia of Associations) is a directory of nonprofit professional organizations and societies.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Associations Unlimited."

Mintel provides marketing intelligence for a wide scope of industries in the US and abroad. Their reports are downloadable and contain market, consumer and brand/company information. Their databooks allow users to create graphs and tables using the marketing data that they collect.