Business Law Databases - BL 415 - Legal Aspects of DEI in the Workplace - Kresge Research Guides at University of Michigan

Business Law 415 - Legal Aspects of DEI in the Workplace - Overview

This research guide is built to support students in BL 415 - "Legal Aspects of DEI in the Workplace" class at the Ross School of Business. It includes resources available through the Kresge Library, The University of Michigan Library, and other freely available web sources. If you need assistance navigating these resources, please visit the Kresge Library Contact page (http://www.bus.umich.edu/kresgelibrary/contact.html). You can use the live chat during regular reference hours (https://www.bus.umich.edu/kresgelibrary/about/hours.html) or the email a Librarian feature on the contact page.

Suggested Search Terms: diversity, affirmative action, LGBTQ, discrimination, DEI, civil rights, gay rights, women's rights.
Hints: you can copy and paste the names of cases and the names of Laws/Acts directly into the search boxes of most legal databases. Look for keywords among the suggested topic descriptions in the BL 415 Team Projects document or among the links in the "History of DEI Legal Issues and Legislation in the US" section on this page.

Related Guides and Sites:
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Accessibility Guides (UM Library)
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection (UM Law Library - Note: Some sources may not be accessible to Ross Students)
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion: Legal Context (University of Michigan)
Business Law (Kresge Library)

History of DEI Legal Issues and Legislation in the US

Civil Rights Act of 1964: A Long Struggle for Freedom
The Library of Congress has compiled a timeline of laws, acts, cases, and other legal actions leading up to the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and beyond.
Legal Information Institute - Affirmative Action
This article from Cornell Law School talks about the legal origins and history of Affirmative Action in the US.
Timeline of Legal History of Women in the US
The National Women’s History Alliance compiled this list of events, laws, cases, and legislation related to women's fight for rights in the US.
A Brief History of the Path to Securing LGBTQ Rights
The American Bar Association chronicles the modern-day movement for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer Americans.
Milestones in the American Gay Rights Movement
The PBS Series "American Experience" produces a timeline of significant events in the American Gay Rights Movement.
A Brief History of Civil Rights in the United States: Indigenous Peoples
Howard University School of Law created a research guide on Indigenous Peoples' Civil Rights over Eight Eras throughout US history.
Disability Rights Timeline
The Institute on Disabilities has produced this timeline of events that led up to significant laws such as Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the American With Disabilities Act of 1990.

Top Business Law Database at Kresge Library

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional (previously called LexisNexis Congressional) indexes and abstracts Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws. Click the "Brows Topics" Link to see DEI topics such as Affirmative Action, LGBTQ Rights, Disability Discrimination, Civil Rights, Women's Suffrage, and many others.

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines. Here you will also find federal and state legal cases and some patent information.
HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains a comprehensive database of law-related journals and magazines. HeinOnline also provides coverage of US Federal laws and regulations, State session laws, International laws and treaties, Congressional and Federal agency documents, and case law.
Conference Board Research Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Conference Board is a think tank that delivers insights on the biggest issues facing business. For DEI topics, click Human Capital --> Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion.

News from the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)

Search U.S. Cases, Laws, and Legal News

Legal sources from around the Web

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related conditions, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.
Cornell Law School - Legal Information Institute
The Legal Information Institute (LII) housed at the Cornell Law School promotes open access to law, worldwide. It has links to State Regulations, the US Code, US Constitution Annotated, The US Supreme Court Collection, and the Women & Justice Collection.
Scotusblog.com
SCOTUSblog is devoted to covering the U.S. Supreme Court comprehensively. The blog generally reports on every major merits case before the court.

Chat with a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Guide Created By

Joel Scheuher

Email Me

Contact:

Kresge Hall, 4th Floor East, Suite K4511
700 East University Avenue
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-1234

734-647-0469

BL 415 - Legal Aspects of DEI in the Workplace: Business Law Databases