BL 415 - Legal Aspects of DEI in the Workplace: Library Tools

To retrieve the full-text of an article or book for a title or citation that you already have, see the steps in the boxes below.

Please note: Some new pre-prints and pending articles may not be officially published yet. Also, some journal titles have "embargos" which means that the most recent content isn't available in a database until after a period of time as specified by the publisher. Consequently, these articles have not been added to a database and therefore aren't available. However, you may still be able to request them through the Interlibrary Loan service (more information below).

For additional help, send a message to kresge_library@umich.edu.

Step 1: Paste the title of the article/paper in the search box below

Note: If you are routed to an "MGet It" page instead, click on the "Read Article" button. In some cases, this will not work either. The next step is to go back one page then try the "Show other options" link. This will take you to different paths to get the same article through a different database. Here is a 3 minute video that highlights this process. If this doesn't work, try Steps 2 and 3 below.

Step 2: Search the titles to the online journal

Step 3. Request an article not found in MLibrary databases

If you don't find the paper/article that you are looking for in the MLibrary search or the Online Journal Locator, you can request the MLibrary to retrieve or scan a copy for you. MLibrary will double check the holdings of the University of Michigan first, then look to other libraries who may be able to fulfill your request. This process is known as an interlibrary loan (ILL). UM uses a product called ILLiad to fulfil these requests. 

Go to the ILLiad link to request your document. Enter information about the document and you will get updates on the progress of your request. When the document is found, you will get an email with a link to retrieve it. 

Step 1: Paste the title of the book/eBook in the search box below

Step 2. Request a book not found in MLibrary databases/catalog

If you don't find the book that you are looking for in the MLibrary search, you can request the MLibrary to retrieve or scan a portion of it for you. MLibrary will double check the holdings of the University of Michigan first, then look to other libraries who may be able to fulfill your request. This process is known as an interlibrary loan (ILL). UM uses a product called ILLiad to fulfil these requests. 

Go to the ILLiad link to request your book. Enter information about the book and you will get updates on the progress of your request. When the book is found, you will get an email with a link or instructions on how to have it delivered or how to retrieve it. For more information on how to get books and eBooks, check the "Books in Various Formats" page from the MLibrary.

Many journals allow you to set up a saved search that will automatically deliver the table of contents to your email whenever a new issue comes out. This usually requires a free registration to a database where the journal is located. If you would like to set this up, please contact Joel Scheuher for assistance.

Google Scholar allows you to set your preference so that it 'knows' you are a current member of the University of Michigan community. This will allow Google Scholar to present you with direct links to journal articles that are in the Library databases.

To set up Library Links in Google Scholar:

1. Go to Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com)
2. Click on 3-line "hamburger menu" in the upper left
3. Click on "Settings"
4. Click on "Library Links" on the left menu
5. On the "Show library access links" page
   • Search for "University of Michigan", select the 2 options for Ann Arbor
6. Click "Save"

Note: Google Scholar saves these settings using cookies on your computer. If you regularly switch computers or do not have cookies turned on, you will need to set these every time you use Google Scholar.