Kresge Research Guides: Real Estate Case Competition: Ross School Future of Real Estate: Articles, eBooks and News

Industry Specific Sources for News and Articles

The following trade magazines are available in full text online for University of Michigan users. Login is required for off-campus access to journals.

PwC Investor Survey (Ross School Only)
The PwC Investor Survey is an authoritative source for capitalization and discount rates, cash flow assumptions and actual criteria of active investors. Each quarterly survey issue contains: cash flow assumption data for select national and regional markets, Overall Cap Rate analysis, PwC Real Estate Barometer, Market pricing opinions, Valuation issues, and cash flow assumption data for niche national markets including Hospitality, Development land, Student housing, and Self storage. Kresge Library has a limited number of seats available. To access PwC Investor Survey, please email the Kresge Library (kresge_library@umich.edu).
PwC Real Estate (Emerging Trends in Real Estate)
PwC's Real Estate vertical includes the annual "Emerging Trends in Real Estate" report co-authored by the Urban Land Institute. It also includes Insight reports into other facets of real estate and financial markets.
National Real Estate Investor
Feature articles, interviews, business profiles, city/area reviews, financial news, legislation, lease transactions, sales and purchases and news of note aimed at professionals in commercial and industrial real estate.
Commercial Investment Real Estate
Peer reviewed articles analyzing trends in the commercial real estate industry, as well as various topics such as development, brokerage, leasing, financing, property management, technology, investment, taxes, legal issues and regional markets.
Commercial Property News
Provides in-depth, objective national coverage of the commercial real estate industry's key trends, issues & concerns through a wide variety of media.
Commercial Property Executive
Commercial Property Executive is the leading integrated resource for executives and companies that own, invest in, develop, lease and/or manage commercial real estate. With an emphasis on executive profiles and industry and economic data, Commercial Property Executive also includes reports covering finance, sustainability, technology, property management, education and legal and regulatory issues.
Development
Development Magazine is a publication of the Commercial Real Estate Development Association. NAIOP provides advocacy, education and business opportunities by connecting members in the commercial real estate development and investment industry.
REALTOR® Magazine
REALTOR® Magazine is the official magazine of the National Association of REALTORS® and the business tool for real estate professionals. The magazine advances real estate best practices, brings expert insight to significant trends, and provides REALTORS® with timely decision-making tools on business purchases and strategies.
Real Estate Economics
Scholarly research on current and emerging real estate issues published for members of the American Real Estate & Urban Economics Association.
Journal of Real Estate Literature
Peer reviewed articles on academic research & teaching in the field of real estate, including dissertations, works in progress, & information on software and data bases, as well as case studies & teaching aids for the real estate classroom instructor.
Journal of Corporate Real Estate
Journal of Corporate Real Estate is a unique double-blind peer reviewed journal dedicated to Corporate Real Estate (CRE). CRE is all about the occupation of space by the end user and the challenges and issues they face with the acquisition, operation and disposal of workspace for their employees and primary processes.
Site Selection
Articles, interviews, profiles, special reports and special editions focused on corporate real estate and site selection and industrial development worldwide.
Curbed
Since 2004, Curbed has been an integral part of the local news landscape online and surfaces relevant local issues to a broad, national audience. Curbed covers 14 American cities, while the flagship site covers every place (and trend, and big idea) in between.
Real Estate Finance
Real Estate Finance provides subscribers with the necessary information for making important decisions about structuring their real estate finance transactions. Coverage includes pricing REITS and mortgage-backed securities, valuing overseas investment opportunities, the latest in regulatory proposals and legislation, and real estate tax updates.
The Real Deal
The Real Deal has national commercial and residential real estate news as well as targeted news for New York, South Florida, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Texas.

Crain's Detroit Business
- This link opens in a new window
Crain's Detroit Business is the top source of news, analysis and information on business in Southeast Michigan for decision-makers in the private and public sectors. Subscription includes access to Real Estate Insider.

Search for News and Articles

The following databases contain articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade publications in multiple industries. Enter keywords or company names to find articles about your topic.

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Email and RSS feed alerts available.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains articles from thousands of newspapers, trade publications, and key business magazines such as the Harvard Business Review. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Business Source Complete."
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Originally a joint-venture between Dow Jones and Reuters, Factiva contains articles from thousands of international newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, Forbes, Newsweek, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Reuters Newswires, Dow Jones Newswires, and thousands of others.
Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines. Here you will also find federal and state legal cases and some patent information.