Real Estate Case Competition: Ross School Future of Real Estate: Data & Additional Resources

The S&P CoreLogic Case-Shiller Home Price Indices are the leading measures of U.S. residential real estate prices, tracking changes in the value of residential real estate nationally.

The National Association of REALTORS® is America's largest trade association, representing 1.3 million members, involved in all aspects of the residential and commercial real estate industries. Membership is composed of residential and commercial brokers, salespeople, property managers, appraisers, counselors, and others engaged in the real estate industry. NAR produces research reports, housing statistics, and commercial research.

Existing and pending home sales, housing affordability and metro area median home prices and affordability data.

HUD provides researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R- (Office of Policy Development and Research) sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.

HUD makes available printed and electronic copies of published HUD research. Primarily sponsored by HUD's Office of Policy Development and Research, these reports, executive summaries, case studies, guidebooks, and market characteristics span the fields of housing and urban development and are available as free downloads.

The USHMC website contains all the national, regional, state, metropolitan, and local market data and analysis in one location.

Historical data on housing starts, home prices, homeownership and monthly housing supply, available in spreadsheet or graphic format for download.

New residential construction and sales, construction spending and building permits data for the US. The Annual Characterisitcs of New Housing reports cover details on home features, financing, heating, square feet and more.

Sales data, construction price indices and quarterly sales by price and financing.

The PwC Investor Survey is an authoritative source for capitalization and discount rates, cash flow assumptions and actual criteria of active investors. Each quarterly survey issue contains: cash flow assumption data for select national and regional markets, Overall Cap Rate analysis, PwC Real Estate Barometer, Market pricing opinions, Valuation issues, and cash flow assumption data for niche national markets including Hospitality, Development land, Student housing, and Self storage. Kresge Library has a limited number of seats available. To access PwC Investor Survey, please email the Kresge Library (kresge_library@umich.edu).

PwC's Real Estate vertical includes the annual "Emerging Trends in Real Estate" report co-authored by the Urban Land Institute. It also includes Insight reports into other facets of real estate and financial markets.

Housing Economics research from the NAHB includes new and existing home sales reports, housing forecasts, starts and permits data, and the Housing Market Index.

Fannie Mae produces regularly published research including the National Housing Survey, Economic and Housing Outlook, Mortgage Lender and Home Purchase Sentiment Surveys. Special topic publications, white papers and sponsored research on topics including home buying trends, home buyer demographic and regional surveys, and related economic and household wealth issues.

Redfin is a residential real estate brokerage that tracks home values in the US and Canadian markets. The company's news page tracks residential housing markets, migration, policy, trends, and related data.

Zillow is the leading real estate and rental marketplace. The site includes homes for sale, homes for rent and homes not currently on the market, as well as Zestimate home values, Rent Zestimates and other home-related information.

CoStar is a leader in commercial real estate information, analytics and news. Access is available in the Tozzi Center (Lower Level of Ross Building). To access CoStar, please email Kai Petainen (kpetaine@umich.edu) to set up an appointment.

Online access to the complete RSMeans Library including over 85,000 unit prices, 25,000 building assemblies and 42,000 facilities repair and remodeling costs covering every category of construction. It also includes a Construction Cost Estimator and a Square Foot Estimator.

The PwC Investor Survey is an authoritative source for capitalization and discount rates, cash flow assumptions and actual criteria of active investors. Each quarterly survey issue contains: cash flow assumption data for select national and regional markets, Overall Cap Rate analysis, PwC Real Estate Barometer, Market pricing opinions, Valuation issues, and cash flow assumption data for niche national markets including Hospitality, Development land, Student housing, and Self storage. Kresge Library has a limited number of seats available. To access PwC Investor Survey, please email the Kresge Library (kresge_library@umich.edu).

PwC's Real Estate vertical includes the annual "Emerging Trends in Real Estate" report co-authored by the Urban Land Institute. It also includes Insight reports into other facets of real estate and financial markets.

CoreLogic aggregates data from individual, parcel-level real estate transactions and financial records. The MLibrary has licensed access to Tax, Deed, and Foreclosure data at the parcel level for every county in the United States.
NOTE: You need to fill out an online form to request access to this data set.

The National Association of REALTORS® is America's largest trade association, representing 1.3 million members, involved in all aspects of the residential and commercial real estate industries. Membership is composed of residential and commercial brokers, salespeople, property managers, appraisers, counselors, and others engaged in the real estate industry. NAR produces research reports, housing statistics, and commercial research.

42 Floors has real time and historical data on commercial real estate in various cities and housing markets. It contains leasing and sale rates on office, retail, industrial, medical, and restaurant properties.

Colliers International Group Inc. is a top tier global real estate services and investment management company operating in 69 countries. They publish quarterly market reports on the state of retail, industrial, and office markets in the US.

Commercial real estate company Cushman & Wakefield offers research reports on office, retail, and industrial space. They have sector reports that reflect different industries and their impacts on the real estate markets. The retail snapshots show rents and trends for different markets.

NAI Global is a leading global commercial real estate brokerage firm. It offers quarterly reports on selected markets and an annual Global Market Trends & Facts Report. It also offers news and blogs about the commercial real estate industry.

CBRE Group, Inc. is the world’s largest commercial real estate services and investment firm. CBRE offers a broad range of integrated services, including facilities, transaction and project management; property management; investment management; appraisal and valuation; property leasing; strategic consulting; property sales; mortgage services and development services.
NOTE: Registration may be required to access reports.

NAIOP provides advocacy, education and business opportunities in the commercial real estate development and investment industry. They publish several research reports including ones on the economic impact of commercial real estate development.