Kresge Research Guides: STRATEGY 444 Mergers and Acquisitions: News and Article Searching

Article Databases

Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Originally a joint-venture between Dow Jones and Reuters, Factiva contains articles from thousands of international newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, Forbes, Newsweek, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Reuters Newswires, Dow Jones Newswires, and thousands of others.
Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains articles from thousands of newspapers, trade publications, and key business magazines such as the Harvard Business Review. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Business Source Complete."
ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Email and RSS feed alerts available.

Online News Sources

Considering research resources

Sarah Blakesley at California State University, Chico developed the CRAAP test as an easy to remember acronym to help provide a checklist of things to consider when evaluating an information or data resource:

Currency – when was it published? Has it been revised or updated? Do the links work?

Relevance – does the information answer your question? Who is the intended audience?

Authority – who is the author/publisher? Is there contact information? Can you use the URL to figure out the source? (.com, .org, .edu)

Accuracy – where does it come from? Is it supported by evidence?

Purpose – why the information exists

The CRAAP Test
Sarah Blakesley's articles in the publication LOEX Quarterly.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar provides a familiar interface and method for searching scholarly literature across a wide array of disciplines and sources. You can find articles, theses, books, abstracts and other documents that are buried in Kresge Library databases or stored in academic institutional repositories around the world.

Google Scholar is not Google. Google Scholar is not searching the web at large, but a set of trusted resources that specifically focus on scholarly literature. Google Scholar is a good place to start to get a sense of where the scholarly literature on your topic is located.

You can also set Google Scholar up to link directly into the Library databases that you have access to as a Ross and UM student.