Kresge Research Guides: STRATEGY 444 Mergers and Acquisitions: Industry and Market Research

Multi-industry Research Resources

Industry information is critical to company and value analysis - the key is to define your industry and to be aware that many industries are made up of smaller, private companies. In addition to using the databases below, remember to ask "Who cares?" about your industry and try to identify trade associations, government agencies and other relevant experts, professional groups and trade publications. Remember that there are many other Ross databases that focus on specific industries, such as the Sports Business Research Network or Gartner Research for technology.

IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
EMIS Emerging Markets
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms such as Allied Market Research, Arizton Advisory and Intelligence, BIS Research, BMI Research, BuddeComm Telecom Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Reports, GlobalData, MarketLine, Mordor Intelligence, and Oxford Economics.
Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in EMIS and login in order to download or export data from the database.
Euromonitor Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Coverage includes consumer products, markets, and services. Statistics include product market size, company market share, brand shares, distribution, product ingredients, and packaging. Consumer behavior and economic factors are analyzed to identify future trends. Euromonitor Passport also has country profiles with economic, political, and geographic information.
Technical notes: Users may create a personal account to save results and research, create Alerts and get RSS feeds.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Euromonitor International."
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel