Select research by country for detailed profiles including history, information on government and culture, economic data and risk. A great place to start research on any country; research is also available by Trade Bloc, economic classification (emerging, frontier or mature markets) and industry.
Guides written by US Embassy trade experts on exporting and doing business, including market overviews, entry strategies, political environment, major sectors and investment climate.
World Bank's Ease of Doing Business reports include rankings on a variety of criteria related to starting and running a business in a country, information on costs and country-specific procedures and regulations.
Country profiles from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development include trade data, FDI and external financial resources, general economic trends and labor data.
The International Monetary Fund provides basic economic data and related news and other publications related to social and economic environment for a country and/or world region.
United Nations National Accounts Main Aggregates Database offers a series of national accounts data from 1970 - present for more than 200 countries and world regions, updated annually in December.
Links to country profiles from the World Bank. Featured data includes economic data and forecasts, population, education and poverty rates, and average monthly temperature and rainfall rates.
The CIA's popular publication provides country-specific information on geography, society, government, energy, military and economic data, with detailed references. Click on The World Factbook Archive from a company profile for links to previous years' editions for historical information.
Databases
BMI Research
BMI Research provides market insights, analysis, and forecasts that identify and assess economic, political, and country risks and opportunities across 200+ markets and 20+ industries. Data includes 30+ years of country risk data for over 200 countries, and sector reports for agribusiness, autos, banking & financial services, commodity prices, consumer & retail, consumer electronics, defense & security, oil & gas, insurance, food & drink, freight transport & shipping, information technology, infrastructure, medical devices, metals, mining, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals & healthcare, power, real estate, renewables, telecommunications, and tourism.
Bulk data downloads for macroeconomic, political, and industry indicators for 200+ geographies are also available.
Sign in is via SSO. Select SSO tab at login screen.
Enter 'UMich' as the Organization ID.
Databank
DataBank from the World Bank includes several statistical datasets on the economy (GDP, GNI, foreign direct investment, exports, inflation, employment, income, etc.), health and nutrition, education, population, and demographics.
EMIS Emerging Markets
Country overviews including economic data and forecasts, research reports on finance, economics and risks, news and equity market information. Start with the Countries tab on the home page of the database.
IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary provides information, data, and perspectives on countries. Topics include macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and much more. Examples of data include international financial statistics, government finance statistics, direct investment, monetary statistics, exchange rates, interest rates, price and production, labor, GDP and components, balance of payments, and direction of trade.
S&P Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies. Financial information for over 100,000 companies globally. Additional data on industries, capital structure, M&A, PE, fixed income, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, and company-level ownership information are also included. Historical and forecast macroeconomic data and historical data on over 270 commodities series, with some available to 1970.
For S&P Capital IQ Transcripts, see WRDS
SageData
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.
Data is available for the world as a whole or for selected countries. Data for the U.S. are shown by state, often by county, sometimesby census tract and zip code. Time series data may go back several decades.
Data sources include the U.S. government, the World Bank, Dow Jones, Dun & Bradstreet, Mergent, and Standard & Poors.
Sage retired the CQ US Political Stats and Sage State and Local Stats platforms and migrated the content to Data Planet
The University Library has Datasets Basic Subscription, which does not include EASI Market Planner, IMF data or data from China Data Center.
A collection of public and private data sets from national governments, international organizations, and research firms. A focus of this resource is sub-national data for the countries of the world (data by country, city, state or province). Country-level data is generally available going back 35 years and city-level data generally covers 15-20 years.
