Kresge Research Guides: ES 620: Healthcare Innovation and Startups: Market and industry research resources

Recommended databases for Healthcare Industry research

Technavio
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Technavio has industry reports covering a wide variety of technologies in the communication services, consumer discretionary, consumer staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities industries.

Technical Notes: Downloading reports requires a valid @umich.edu email. Users are limited to 10 downloads per month with unlimited online report viewing.
Frost & Sullivan
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Frost & Sullivan is a research and consulting firm that tracks trends across a wide variety of industries. Examples include aerospace, agriculture, automotive, banking, electronics, energy, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, media, materials, oil & gas, security, telecom, With a strong emphasis on technology and markets, research focuses on competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Frost & Sullivan."

Email alerts available

Direct-to-consumer wellness testing growth opportunities
From Frost & Sullivan

IDC
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Data Corporation (IDC) is a market intelligence firm that produces reports on information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology markets. These include reports on trends, technology updates, forecasts, major players, vendors, markets and market shares, use cases, and other IT related topics. IDC PlanScapes present a road maps for IT professionals to follow for deploying technologies for enterprise use.

More details about the IDC report and document types is available at IDC.

Data Privacy and Security Concerns are Influencing Healthcare's Generative AI Adoption Pace
From IDC Research

EMIS Emerging Markets
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms such as Allied Market Research, Arizton Advisory and Intelligence, BIS Research, BMI Research, BuddeComm Telecom Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Reports, GlobalData, MarketLine, Mordor Intelligence, and Oxford Economics.
Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in EMIS and login in order to download or export data from the database.
Gartner
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Healthcare technology use cases, product and vendor evaluations.
Email alerts available
GlobalData Medical Intelligence Center
- This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Medical covers market data and analysis for marketed products, pipeline products, clinical trials, and deals for medical devices across several sectors. Therapy areas covered include anesthesia & respiratory, cardiovascular, dental, diabetes, ENT, general surgery, in vitro diagnostics, nephrology and urology, neurology, ophthalmic, orthopedic, and wound care.
EvaluatePharma
- This link opens in a new window
EvaluatePharma is the leader in consensus forecasts of leading industry analysts and analysis of the pharmaceutical and biotechnology healthcare sectors. Information includes sales by indication, licensing deals, merger & acquisitions, venture financing, IPOs, and orphaned drugs.

Technical Notes:Accounts must be requested from EvaluatePharma. Details available after iMpact login.

Accounts expire at the end of Fall, Winter and Summer semesters. Returning Ross Users will need to re-register.
Account registration and password reset request emails may end up in your email SPAM folder.
BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BCC has market research reports across many industries including: Biotechnology, Chemicals, Consumer Products, Energy, Engineering, Environment, Finance, Food and Beverage, Fuel Cell and Battery Technologies, Healthcare, Information Technology, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Materials, Medical Devices, Nanotechnology, Photonics, Plastics, and Semiconductors. It also includes “Franchise Profiles” of companies who franchise some of their locations.

Healthcare Consumer Research

Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel's healthcare coverage includes therapeutic application research (digestive health, skin care, etc.), and healthcare product and services consumer survey data.

Health Technology Trends - US - 2023
From Mintel

Euromonitor Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor's Consumer Health coverage includes market and consumer data on a wide variety of health and nutrition products and companies, company/brand/product sales data, and consumer expenditure and related data.
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eMarketer covers the digital marketplace with reports and charts on advertising spending by media, brand marketing, digital advertising, mobile apps, mobile devices, consumer behavior and experience, Ecommerce, social media usage and other topics.

Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database.

Healthcare Industry Statistics & Business Environment Data

HCUP - Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States. HCUP Databases contain information on inpatient stays, emergency department visits, and ambulatory care.
Nationwide Ambulatory Surgery Sample (NASS)
The NASS is the largest all-payer ambulatory surgery database in the United States, yielding national estimates of major ambulatory surgery encounters performed in hospital-owned facilities.
National Hospital Care Cost Survey
NHCS collects data on patient care in hospital-based settings to describe patterns of health care delivery and utilization in the United States. Settings include inpatient, emergency (EDs), and outpatient departments (OPDs).

Health Statistics Research Guide - MLibrary

A great place to start your search for health and healthcare-related statistics

Physician Fee Schedule - from the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Reimbursement rates for a variety of procedures
Official medical coding is needed to search for procedures; find the codes at:
- HCPCS information from the CMS - About the Codes, and links to the files
- HCPCS file links
- Free code lookup - including HCPCS, ICD-9 and -10 and more
Landing page with links to health statistics from multiple sources
Health indicators, surveys and survey data, links to classification and coding resources, international statistics

National Hospital Discharge Survey

Data on procedures and disease incidences in the United States, from the CDC

Additional Healthcare, Biotech & Life Sciences Research Resources

American Hospital Directory
- This link opens in a new window
The American Hospital Directory includes data on hospital facilities in the US including, number of beds, number of employees, ownership type (govt., private, public), revenue, visits, services provided, patient days, discharges, and more. Most data is obtained from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Technical notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from AHD.com is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.