Kresge Research Guides: STRATEGY 390 Corporate Strategy Fall 2023: News & Article Databases

News and articles for industry and company analysis

There are many sources available to you at Ross and at MLibrary for articles, including academic journals, major news sources, and industry or trade press, depending on your needs. For your strategy project research, you can't go wrong with some searching in Business Source Complete, or using the Google Scholar search with links to the Ross and UM resources.

An article search can often turn up all kinds of information on your company or industry.
Be creative with your keywords describing your issue or topic. Search on terms like "business model canvas", "lean startup" or "customer discovery" and use quotation marks or other database-specific commands to search by exact phrase. Be on the lookout for research articles related to your topic--look for the data section to see what resources the authors cite.
Articles are a great source for independent discussion of your company's involvement in social issues, and may also pick up local news sources with additional information about your company. Try searching by company name or use the fields in the databases to search by company, industry or topic.

Databases for searching journals and magazines

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Email and RSS feed alerts available.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains articles from thousands of newspapers, trade publications, and key business magazines such as the Harvard Business Review. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Business Source Complete."
Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Insights from contains company profiles, SWOT analysis, limited analyst reports, case studies, news articles, and industry reports. Market Share Reporter and industry reports from Plunkett Research are also included.
Technical notes: If you have difficulty connecting to this database, please delete your browser
cookies and retry.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Originally a joint-venture between Dow Jones and Reuters, Factiva contains articles from thousands of international newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, Forbes, Newsweek, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Reuters Newswires, Dow Jones Newswires, and thousands of others.
Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.

Searching for specific journals

Finding journal titles at MLibrary
Use the MLibrary search to find specific journal titles, online or in print. You can also search the catalog for book titles and specific articles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a familiar interface and method for searching scholarly literature across a wide array of disciplines and sources. You can find articles, theses, books, abstracts and other documents that are buried in UM library databases or stored in academic institutional repositories around the world. You can also set Google Scholar up to link directly into the Library databases that you have access to as a Ross and UM student.