STRATEGY 390 Corporate Strategy Fall 2023: Industry Research & Market Reports

Mintel provides marketing intelligence for a wide scope of industries in the US and abroad. Their reports are downloadable and contain market, consumer and brand/company information. Their databooks allow users to create graphs and tables using the marketing data that they collect.

This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Coverage includes consumer products, markets, and services. Statistics include product market size, company market share, brand shares, distribution, product ingredients, and packaging. Consumer behavior and economic factors are analyzed to identify future trends. Euromonitor Passport also has country profiles with economic, political, and geographic information.
Technical notes: Users may create a personal account to save results and research, create Alerts and get RSS feeds.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Euromonitor International."

eMarketer covers the digital marketplace with reports and charts on advertising spending by media, brand marketing, digital advertising, mobile apps, mobile devices, consumer behavior and experience, Ecommerce, social media usage and other topics.

Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database.

• Help Guide

Forrester produces reports on technology trends across a variety of industries and business topics. Examples of industry analyses include financial services, retail, healthcare, manufacturing, energy, information technology, among others. Coverage areas include Business and IT alignment, innovation, application development & management, digital marketing, supply chain management, e-commerce, enterprise content management, and many others. The Forrester Wave™ shows major players in and industry and their positions as leaders, strong performers, contenders, and challengers. Playbooks assist executives with implementing business processes.
Technical notes: This resource requires a one-time registration to create a user account with Forrester.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Forrester." Output may not be used to ultimately benefit companies.
Technical notes: This resource requires a one-time registration to create a user account with Forrester.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Forrester." Output may not be used to ultimately benefit companies.

Gartner is a leading research firm that focuses on information technology across multiple sectors and functions. Gartner’s signature Hype Cycle highlights phases of technology from the innovation trigger, peak of inflated expectations, trough of disillusionment, slope of enlightenment, to the plateau of productivity. Primers give a succinct overview of new technologies. Market Guides highlight key vendors in an IT specialty.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Gartner."

International Data Corporation (IDC) is a market intelligence firm that produces reports on information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology markets. These include reports on trends, technology updates, forecasts, major players, vendors, markets and market shares, use cases, and other IT related topics. IDC PlanScapes present a road maps for IT professionals to follow for deploying technologies for enterprise use.

More details about the IDC report and document types is available at IDC.

EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms such as Allied Market Research, Arizton Advisory and Intelligence, BIS Research, BMI Research, BuddeComm Telecom Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Reports, GlobalData, MarketLine, Mordor Intelligence, and Oxford Economics.
Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in EMIS and login in order to download or export data from the database.

This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Coverage includes consumer products, markets, and services. Statistics include product market size, company market share, brand shares, distribution, product ingredients, and packaging. Consumer behavior and economic factors are analyzed to identify future trends. Euromonitor Passport also has country profiles with economic, political, and geographic information.
Technical notes: Users may create a personal account to save results and research, create Alerts and get RSS feeds.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Euromonitor International."

BMI Research provides market insights, analysis, and forecasts that identify and assess economic, political, and country risks and opportunities across 200+ markets and 20+ industries. Data includes 30+ years of country risk data for over 200 countries, and sector reports for agribusiness, autos, banking & financial services, commodity prices, consumer & retail, consumer electronics, defense & security, oil & gas, insurance, food & drink, freight transport & shipping, information technology, infrastructure, medical devices, metals, mining, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals & healthcare, power, real estate, renewables, telecommunications, and tourism.

Bulk data downloads for macroeconomic, political, and industry indicators for 200+ geographies are also available.

IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.

Technavio has industry reports covering a wide variety of technologies in the communication services, consumer discretionary, consumer staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities industries.

Technical Notes: Downloading reports requires a valid @umich.edu email. Users are limited to 10 downloads per month with unlimited online report viewing.

BCC has market research reports across many industries including: Biotechnology, Chemicals, Consumer Products, Energy, Engineering, Environment, Finance, Food and Beverage, Fuel Cell and Battery Technologies, Healthcare, Information Technology, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Materials, Medical Devices, Nanotechnology, Photonics, Plastics, and Semiconductors. It also includes “Franchise Profiles” of companies who franchise some of their locations.

GlobalData Medical covers market data and analysis for marketed products, pipeline products, clinical trials, and deals for medical devices across several sectors. Therapy areas covered include anesthesia & respiratory, cardiovascular, dental, diabetes, ENT, general surgery, in vitro diagnostics, nephrology and urology, neurology, ophthalmic, orthopedic, and wound care.

EvaluatePharma is the leader in consensus forecasts of leading industry analysts and analysis of the pharmaceutical and biotechnology healthcare sectors. Information includes sales by indication, licensing deals, merger & acquisitions, venture financing, IPOs, and orphaned drugs.
For more information see the EvaluatePharma Overview page.

Technical Notes:Accounts must be requested from EvaluatePharma. Details available after iMpact login.

Accounts expire at the end of Fall, Winter and Summer semesters. Returning Ross Users will need to re-register.
Account registration and password reset request emails may end up in your email SPAM folder.