Kresge Research Guides: BA 480 Ross School Senior Thesis Seminar Resources: Data & Computing Resources

Research Computing at Ross and the University of Michigan

Ross Research Computing

Kresge Library partners with Ross Research Computing to assist students with their data analysis for research needs. We can assist students with locating data sources, accessing data and computing resources, and basic coding assistance. In addition, we serve as a liaison to other consulting units (ARC and CSCAR) on campus and can assist in connecting students to those units.

High Performance Computing at the University of Michigan

The Great Lakes HPC Cluster is available to all researchers on campus for simulation, modeling, machine learning, data science, genomics, and more. The platform provides a balanced combination of computing power, I/O performance, storage capability, and accelerators.

Access to Great Lakes requires an account and permissions to use an allocation. Ross Faculty and PhD students are eligible for an allocation which can be shared with students and research assistants. For more information, contact Ross Research Computing at RSBResearchcomputing@umich.edu.

Social Science Data Sources

SageData
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.

Data is available for the world as a whole or for selected countries. Data for the U.S. are shown by state, often by county, sometimesby census tract and zip code. Time series data may go back several decades.

Data sources include the U.S. government, the World Bank, Dow Jones, Dun & Bradstreet, Mergent, and Standard & Poors.

Sage retired the CQ US Political Stats and Sage State and Local Stats platforms and migrated the content to Data Planet

The University Library has Datasets Basic Subscription, which does not include EASI Market Planner, IMF data or data from China Data Center.
A collection of public and private data sets from national governments, international organizations, and research firms. A focus of this resource is sub-national data for the countries of the world (data by country, city, state or province). Country-level data is generally available going back 35 years and city-level data generally covers 15-20 years.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.

Michigan Institute for Data Science Research Datasets

This collection includes datasets that MIDAS manages for the campus, and other U-M and external datasets that are of interest to the MIDAS research community.

ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction (over 14,000 discrete studies/surveys with more than 65,000 datasets). A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a membership-based organization, with approximately 760 member colleges and universities and other research institutions around the world.

Financial Data Sources

WRDS Wharton Research Data Services
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Datasets from Wharton Research Data Services including Bank Regulatory, Beta Suite by WRDS, Blockholders, BoardEx, Bureau van Dijk, CBOE Indexes, Compustat – Capital, IQ, CRSP, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones, S&P Capital IQ Transcripts, Efficient Frontier by WRDS, Event Study by WRDS, Eventus, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank, Financial Ratios Suite by WRDS, IBES (I/B/E/S® earnings estimate aggregates), IHS Global Insight, Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS), ISSM, Linking Suite by WRDS, MFLINKS, MSRB, Option Metrics, Option Suite by WRDS, OTC Markets, Penn World Tables, Peters and Taylor Total Q, PHLX, Public, RavenPack News Analytic, Research Quotient, SAS Visual Analytics, SEC Order Execution, Thomson Reuters, TRACE and World Indices by WRDS. Fixed Income Securities Database (FISD)

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of (name of database)." Output may not be used to ultimately benefit companies.
Data sets include:

Bank Regulatory
Beta Suite by WRDS
Blockholders
BoardEx
Bureau van Dijk
CBOE Indexes
Compustat - Capital IQ
CRSP
DMEF Academic Data
Dow Jones
Efficient Frontier by WRDS
Event Study by WRDS
Eventus
Fama French & Liquidity Factors
Federal Reserve Bank
Financial Ratios Suite by WRDS
IBES
IHS Global Insight
Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS)
ISSM
Linking Suite by WRDS
MFLINKS
MSRB
Option Metrics
Option Suite by WRDS
OTC Markets
Penn World Tables
Peters and Taylor Total Q
PHLX
Public
RavenPack News Analytics
Research Quotient
SAS Visual Analytics
SEC Order Execution
Thomson Reuters
TRACE
World Indices by WRDS

For descriptions see WRDS Dataset List from Ross Research Computing
Orbis Historical Data Files
ORBIS Historical Data Files contain a point-in-time snapshot of the ORBIS database. Financials are available from 1995 to June 2023. Ownership data is available from 2007 to June 2023. Data is available in structured sets of tab-delimited TXT files, and are updated twice yearly in June and December.

Access is available to the data via the UM Great Lakes computing cluster at Turbo location: /nfs/turbo/ross-research/Databases/BvD.

Users will need access to Great Lakes to work with the data. For more information on accessing the data, contact RSBResearchComputing@umich.edu.

For questions about data content, contact kresge_library@umich.edu