Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Resources for Social Media Research
Excellent resource on elements of the Internet Economy - including social media
Includes numerous tables, charts and brief articles
Analysis of the Internet economy, including web design, digital marketing, site technology, and attitudes of Internet users
Includes information on a variety of industries, including automotive, B2B, and retail, for the United States, France, Germany, and the U.K.
News, research, analysis, and events about technology markets and industries, with focus on technology workers, vendors, and investors
Includes Hype Cycle Reports for social media
Not all Gartner content is included in this subscription
Research reports consumers and social media as it relates to individual industry segments
Additional reports cover the U.S. and European marketplaces
Reports combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis consumer profiles, and demographic issues
International Data Corporation (IDC) is a market intelligence firm that produces reports on information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology markets. These include reports on trends, technology updates, forecasts, major players, vendors, markets and market shares, use cases, and other IT related topics. IDC PlanScapes present a road maps for IT professionals to follow for deploying technologies for enterprise use.
Includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls
Excellent coverage of social media and Internet usage in the U.S. and worldwide.
Other Recommended Social Media Resources
Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
Includes some general reports on social media as well as company briefs on the leading players in that space
Useful for tracking technology advancements and trends, strategic planning, competitive analysis, market awareness, implementation support and product and vendor evaluation
Reports on ebusiness and Internet strategies, wireless communications, application development, IT asset management and related fields
Industry, demographic, consumer and economic data with forecasts for numerous countries and consumer brands worldwide
Full-text market analysis reports and Euromonitor International market data for hundreds of products in nearly 50 countries
Some good material on social media as it relates to individual industry segments, primarily with consumer goods
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Great coverage of industries in the United States, China and globally
Resources on social media with individual industries
Look for the report titled "Social Networking Sites" that will be useful for this growing field
Full-text international market research reports, with coverage back to 1994
Includes topics like business services, consumer goods, food and beverages, life sciences, demographics, heavy industry and technology/media
Many reports will touch upon social media as a means of marketing individual industry segments