Business Law Databases - Business Law - Ross Student Group - Kresge Research Guides at University of Michigan

Top Business Law Databases

Cornell Law School - Legal Information Institute
The Legal Information Institute (LII) housed at the Cornell Law School promotes open access to law, worldwide. It has links to State Regulations, the US Code, US Constitution Annotated, The US Supreme Court Collection, and the Women & Justice Collection.

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines. Here you will also find federal and state legal cases and some patent information.
HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains a comprehensive database of law-related journals and magazines. HeinOnline also provides coverage of US Federal laws and regulations, State session laws, International laws and treaties, Congressional and Federal agency documents, and case law.
VitalLaw
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VitalLaw from CCH (Commerce Clearing House) has news, analysis, and legislation on Federal, State, and International Tax topics. It also has the U.S. Master GAAP Guide with technical explanations of generally accepted accounting principles as documented in the Financial Accounting Standards Board’s (FASB) Accounting Standards Codification (ASC).

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of CCH Intelliconnect."

ProQuest Legislative Insight
ProQuest Legislative Insight includes histories of public laws, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints.
ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional (previously called LexisNexis Congressional) indexes and abstracts Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws.
LegalTrac
LegalTrac indexes major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers covering U.S. federal and state cases, laws, government regulations & legal practice
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (with Full Text)
Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text covers over 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications.
SEC Filings via EDGAR
The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval database (EDGAR) is a filing system created by the Securities and Exchange commission. All public company filings such as the 10-K (annual report). 10-Q (quarterly report), 14 (proxies), and S-1 (initial registration statement - i.e. IPO) are included.
CQ Supreme Court Collection
This base has historical analysis and commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Email Me

Contact:

Kresge Hall, 4th Floor East, Suite K4511
700 East University Avenue
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-1234

734-647-0469