Kresge Research Guides: STRATEGY 290 Hella Cocktail Co.: Market and consumer research

Industry codes and descriptions

Ross databases, industry and government websites from which you can read market and industry research reports, news and articles related to your industry and companies, and find and download relevant market, consumer and related census demographic and business data often use government-assigned industry classification systems to index relevant company and industry data. Here are some of the codes that will be useful for searching data sources for your project:

NAICS Codes: Beverage manufacturing SIC Codes

3121 Beverage Manufacturing 208 Beverage manufacturing

31211 Soft Drinks Manufacturing 2085 Distilleries and Blended Liquors

31212 Breweries 2086 Bottled and Canned Soft Drinks

31214 Distilleries

Beverage industry research

EMIS Emerging Markets
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMIS coverage includes global research on RTD (ready to drink) cocktails, wine and spirits manufacturing and distribution, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverage manufacturing
Technavio
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Technavio's industry research includes reports on Cocktail Mixers, RTD Alcoholic Beverages, Liquers and Cordials and more.
Technical Notes: Downloading reports requires a valid @umich.edu email. Users are limited to 10 downloads per month with unlimited online report viewing.
BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BCC's Food and Beverage industry coverage includes research on both Alcoholic and Nonalcoholic Beverages,
MarketResearch.com Academic
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text international market research reports, with coverage back to 1994. Includes topics like business services, consumer goods, food and beverages, life sciences, demographics, heavy industry and technology/media. Reports from Freedonia, Kalorama, Mind Commerce, Packaged Facts, and Paul Budde Communication are included.

Technical notes: Some older reports may be in Microsoft PowerPoint format. There is a 1 year embargo on reports from Paul Budde Communication Pty Ltd. Includes Freedonia Focus Reports.
Video tutorial
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld's extensive industry coverage includes RTD and mixed spirit production, retail and bar sales. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Researching the industry

Global Market for Nonalcoholic Beverages by Category, 2021-2027 ($ Billions)

Source: BCC Research

Consumer and demographic data

Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel's market coverage also includes extensive consumer research and data, brand and company data. Relevant research includes reports on Alcohol Alternatives, Home and RTD cocktails, craft mixers and more.
Euromonitor Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor research on non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverage manufacturing and distribution includes country and regional market size, company and brand share data, retail channels and research reports on specific beverage categories.
Video tutorials:
- Euromonitor International YouTube Channel
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Related US Census, Consumer Expenditure data, and American Community Survey data for the industry includes home and away retail sales and consumption for a variety of retail and beverage categories, employment and business counts for retail and manufactuing categories.

US Census
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The new data site from the Census includes integratged access several censuses and surveys, including the American Community and Housing surveys, the Economic Census and annual Commodity Flow Survey.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains data from the first Census in 1790 to the present day. Using their data, the user can generate maps of population or specific demographic variables by location, as well as reports.

Research from the web

Trade associations and professional organizations, beverage industry trade publications and specialized resources are excellent places to browse for current industry news, product announcements, industry and consumer trends. Ross/UM databases offer access to many published trade resources, but many web-based sites exist that allow some free news browsing and other resources. Here are some that might be useful for your project:

American Distilling Institute
The Institute's website includes limited access to the Distiller trade publication and to the Distillery Directory.
20 Cocktail Bitters Brands, Ranked
From Tasting Table, website focused on the "modern food and drink enthusiast" featuring reviews, trends and product news.
Bitters: The Spice of Cocktail Life
From the Alcohol Professor, an excellent place to learn about the products in your industry, and a reference source for finding out about cocktails, wine and more.
The Adult Non-Alcoholic Beverage Association
Take a look at some of Hella's competitors and other industry participants in the alcohol alternatives category.