BCOM 350 Professional Communication Strategies: Corporate Social Responsibility: Home

Google Scholar - http://scholar.google.com

Google Scholar provides a familiar interface and method for searching scholarly literature across a wide array of disciplines and sources. You can find articles, theses, books, abstracts and other documents that are buried in Kresge Library databases or stored in academic institutional repositories around the world.

Google Scholar is not Google.  Google Scholar is not searching the web at large, but a set of trusted resources that specifically focus on scholarly literature. Google Scholar is a good place to start to get a sense of where the scholarly literature on your topic is located. 

You can also set Google Scholar up to link directly into the Library databases that you have access to as a Ross and UM student.

To search Google Scholar, use the search box at the right of this page, or go to Google Scholar.

Type in your search terms, author's names, article or paper name or any other information that you are looking to find in the scholarly literature.

For more advanced search options, such as finding recently published papers, see Google Scholar's Search Tips.

Google Scholar allows you to set your preference so that it 'knows' you are a current member of the University of Michigan community. This will allow Google Scholar to present you with direct links to journal articles that are in the Library databases.

To set up Library Links in Google Scholar:

1. Go to Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com)
2. Click on 3-line "hamburger menu" in the upper left
3. Click on "Settings"
4. Click on "Library Links" on the left menu
5. On the "Show library access links" page
   • Search for "University of Michigan", select the 2 options for Ann Arbor
6. Click "Save"

Note: Google Scholar saves these settings using cookies on your computer. If you regularly switch computers or do not have cookies turned on, you will need to set these every time you use Google Scholar.

Citing Business Databases in APA Style from the University of North Carolina, Greensboro

• Useful guide that includes examples of citing major business databases in the APA style.

UM Library Citation Help

•  A great site from our own U-M Library that includes detailed MLA, APA and other style information and citation formats

Harvard Business School Citation Guide

• From Harvard's Baker Library: includes citation guidelines for nearly every type of information resource, especially internet and news resources