Kresge Research Guides: Company Research: News

ABI/Inform and Business Source

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Over 7,000 academic and industry-oriented business publications. Full-text availability for about 4,000 periodicals
- SWOT analysis, case studies, market reports, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers
- Exclusive access to full-text of the MIT Sloan Management Review and The Economist
- Coverage for some journals begins in 1923
Email and RSS feed alerts available.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Abstracts over 22,000 business magazines, journals and reports. Full-text availability for about 2,500 periodicals
- Company profiles from Marketline and Medtrack
- Over 3,600 SWOT analysis, 10,000 full-text case studies, and 1.1 million company briefs. Also provides executive interviews, industry and market research reports.
- Dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other literature
- Exclusive access to the full-text of the Harvard Business Review and leading business magazines such as Bloomberg Businessweek, Forbes, Fortune, and Money.
- Coverage for some journals begins in 1886
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Business Source Complete."

Search recommendations for ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete

Select Advanced Search menu to target company research

Type company name. Select Company in right menu
Select Abstract or All Text to expand search results

Add to the company name one of the following terms in the Subject or Abstract fields or consult the database thesaurus:

Business Plans (Subject)
Case study (Abstract)
Competition (Subject)
Complaints (Subject)
Corporate culture (Subject)
Employee (Subject) [retrieve employee attitude, employee benefits]
Five forces (Abstract) [retrieve Porter’s five forces analysis]
Interviews (Subject)
Innovations (Subject)
Litigation (Subject)
Market (Subject) [retrieve market share, market size]
Organizational structure

Performance (Subject) [retrieve financial performance, performance metrics, performance awards]
Planning (Subject)
Ratings & rankings (Subject)
Risk(Subject)
Strategic (Subject)
Studies (Subject) [ also retrieves case studies]
Studies (abstract)
Surveys (Subject)
SWOT (Subject)
Trends(Subject)
Work environment (Subject)

Business Insights

Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Over 3,500 business publications, 500,000 U.S. and global company profiles, industry profiles and case studies
- Detailed chronological histories for 11, 000 companies
- Access to thousands of company or product comparisons in Market Share Reporter and Business Rankings Annual. Go to Advanced Menu; Limiters; Content Type
Technical notes: If you have difficulty connecting to this database, please delete your browser cookies and retry.

Factiva

Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Business news articles from over 6,000 global and domestic publications - newspapers, newswires, trade journals, and magazines
Full-text access to current and historical Wall Street Journal articles
VIQ FD Disclosure earnings call transcripts of company management and investment analysts djiscussing company performance

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines. Here you will also find federal and state legal cases and some patent information.

Regional Business News (EBSCO)

Regional Business News (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Incorporates 106 United States and Canadian regional publications
- Good source for information about smaller, private companies
- Includes Crain’s Communication publications and local sources such as Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, and Westchester County Business Journa.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Regional Business News."
RSS feed alerts available.

Science Direct

Science Direct
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Locate articles about science and technology companies. Obtain more in-depth information about their products and research
- Good source for operations management research. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities
- Contains access to more than 2,000 journals published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals

Statista

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Extrapolates statistics, data, tables, charts and graphs from a wide range of reports and resources
- Type in a company’s name and examine the results. Add topic to refine search

Article Database Comparison

ABI

Business Source

Science Direct

Scholarly journals, trade publications, studies and disertations.

Factiva

Nexis Uni

Global and regional press, trade publications.

Business Insights

Market share reporter, annual business rankings.

Regional Business

Local area enterprise information

Bloomberg

Real time company news

Statista

Company and industry rankings and metrics

Bloomberg Professional Service – Tozzi only

Database Guide - Bloomberg
by Danguole Kviklys Last Updated May 5, 2023 1902 views this year

Dominant financial resource tool used worldwide by major financial institutions.

Access only through special terminals at the Tozzi Electronic Business & Finance Center or Kresge Library. Training required. Check the Tozzi Center for workshop schedule.

Provides real time news, analysis, financial and market data for over 45, 0000 companies traded on major global and local exchanges. Additional information available for over 100,000 private companies. Consult EQS to obtain the latest company coverage numbers. Delisted, bankrupt and inactive company information also available
News from over 30,000 sources from around the world
Over 2,800 fundamental data items and financial ratios enable in-depth company performance and risk analysis.
Historical stock price archive varies, up to 30 years or more for some companies. For more complete pricing, use the WRDS – CRSP dataset.