Kresge Research Guides: Strategy 290 Business Strategy: Apparel Industry: News & Article Databases

Industry Codes and Keywords for Searching

The Industry Codes that you can use for searching the company data resources can often be used in the business-focused article databases. You can also use the phrases used in the codes to describe what you're looking for, in addition to other synonyms and alternative terms like:

Men's (or women's or children's) apparel (or clothing) retail (or stores)

Consider combining these terms with some of the assigned indexing terms that you can find in these article databases (Subject or Topic) to narrow your search. Combine your own keywords using the Advanced search capabilities and the AND connector for narrower searching:

fashion industry AND performance

American Eagle Outfitters AND marketing

Urban Outfitters and retail strategy

North American Industry Classification (NAICS) Codes:

448140 Family Clothing Stores

448110 Men's Clothing Stores

448120 Women's Clothing Stores

448150 Clothing and Accessories Stores

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes:

5611 Men and Boys' Clothing and Accessory Stores

5621 Women's Clothing Stores

5632 Women's Accessory and Specialty Stores

5651 Family Clothing Stores

Best Resources for News and Journals

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Email and RSS feed alerts available.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains articles from thousands of newspapers, trade publications, and key business magazines such as the Harvard Business Review. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Business Source Complete."
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Originally a joint-venture between Dow Jones and Reuters, Factiva contains articles from thousands of international newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, Forbes, Newsweek, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Reuters Newswires, Dow Jones Newswires, and thousands of others.
Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.