Strategy 290 Business Strategy: Apparel Industry: Industry Research & Market Reports

Mintel provides marketing intelligence for a wide scope of industries in the US and abroad. Their reports are downloadable and contain market, consumer and brand/company information. Their databooks allow users to create graphs and tables using the marketing data that they collect.

SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS. Examples of data included are Census data, Consumer Expenditure Survey and Nielsen Retail Market Power.

Technical notes: Users need to create their own account with @umich.edu email address in order to be able to save work.

This data tool leverages Census data to identify companies and revenues by product category in specified geographic areas around the US. It also can track population makeup of individuals on parameters such as age, gender, race, household size, household income, education attainment, marital status, and language spoken. Geographic regions can be filtered to Census tracts, core-based statistical areas, designated market area, states, counties, zip codes, and many other options.

This database contains data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Coverage includes consumer products, markets, and services. Statistics include product market size, company market share, brand shares, distribution, product ingredients, and packaging. Consumer behavior and economic factors are analyzed to identify future trends. Euromonitor Passport also has country profiles with economic, political, and geographic information.
Technical notes: Users may create a personal account to save results and research, create Alerts and get RSS feeds.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Euromonitor International."

Global industry, company and news coverage of the apparel retailer market, including specific sector research.

Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.

Apparel industry research from Freedonia Research, including sector specific reports (ie. men's clothing or footwear), and demographic and consumer reports from Packaged Facts.