Nonprofit Organizations & NGOs: Nonprofit Organizations

Center for Nonprofit Management

• Resource from California that provides resources, especially to smaller community organizations
• Articles and Publications including speeches and white papers written by those in the field and in academics

National Council of Nonprofit Associations

• Network of state and regional nonprofit associations serving over 20,000 members in 41 states and the District of Columbia.
• Helps small and midsize nonprofits manage more effectively, collaborate, and engage in critical policy issues
• Sponsors the annual Nonprofit Congress, a meeting on nonprofits for information sharing and local grassroots planning

National Council of Nonprofits

• Their mission is to "advance the vital role, capacity, and voice of charitable nonprofit organizations through our state and national networks."
• Great source for numerous reports, articles and best practices for America's nonprofits.

Michigan Nonprofit Association

• Primarily an advocacy group for nonprofits in Michigan; site includes many noteworthy resources including:
• Non Profit FAQ (with information on setting up non-profit organizations)
• Michigan's Non Profit Sector Overview
• Principles & Practices

The Urban Institute page for Nonprofits

• The Institute's page includes links to nonprofit directories, research papers, internet resources and nonprofit statistics.
• Great source for reports and web-publications.

National Center for Charitable Statistics

• Clearinghouse for data on nonprofits in the United States. Includes U.S. and state profiles, access to the NCCS database and a searchable indexto filed IRS 990 forms
• An example of the state profile for Michigan

NGO Branch (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs)

• From their website, "The DESA NGO Branch is the focal point within the UN Secretariat for non-governmental organizations in consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and for NGOs seeking status."
• Good source for research on NGOs.

UNESCO Database of Non-Governmental Organizations

• Good directory information of NGOs working with UNESCO.
• Direct link to the resource

NEW (Nonprofit Enterprise at Work, Inc.)

• Excellent Ann Arbor Agency that supports the work of Nonprofits in Southeast Michigan
• This resource Includes information on all aspects of nonprofit management including: fund raising, marketing, management, volunteers, planning, etc. 

NPower

• Based in Seattle, NPower is a "...network of locally based nonprofit organizations that provide comprehensive, high-quality and affordable technology assistance to other nonprofit groups nationally. Founded in 1999, NPower currently serves more than 4,000 organizations each year."
• Guides and Papers on a variety of topics related to implementing and using technology at nonprofit organizations - including the Technology for Leaders series of reports & Using Free Online Tools.