It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information Technology and Computer Industry Research
Ross databases, industry and government websites from which you can read market and industry research reports, news and articles related to your industry and companies, and find and download relevant market, consumer and technology reports. Many of the resources use government-assigned industry classification systems to index relevant company and industry data. Here are some of the codes that will be useful for searching data sources for your project:
NAICS (North American Industrial Classification) Codes:
511210 - Software Publishers
334111 - Electronic Computer Manufacturing
Kresge has several databases that cover the information technology industry and related computer industries.
Below is a list of the best databases that cover these industries with technology and market reports on these industries.Try searching terms like "computers", "laptops", "tablets", and "mobile devices".
Data-Planet is a repository of date from US government sources, World Bank, IMF, OECD, and other intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, economics, finance, industry, and marketing.
The University Library has Datasets Basic Subscription, which does not include EASI Market Planner, IMF data or data from the U-M China Data Center. U-M China Data Center is available from China Data Online. IMF data in IMF eLibrary Dat
Chrome is recommended and tell Java to update at a later time.
A collection of public and private data sets from national governments, international organizations, and research firms. A focus of this resource is sub-national data for the countries of the world (data by country, city, state or province). Country-level data is generally available going back 35 years and city-level data generally covers 15-20 years.
Gartner is a leading research firm that focuses on information technology across multiple sectors and functions. Gartner’s signature Hype Cycle highlights phases of technology from the innovation trigger, peak of inflated expectations, trough of disillusionment, slope of enlightenment, to the plateau of productivity. Primers give a succinct overview of new technologies. Market Guides highlight key vendors in an IT specialty.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Gartner."
Frost & Sullivan is a research and consulting firm that tracks trends across a wide variety of industries. Gaming and gaming consoles are among the topics covered. Notes: Only librarians can download full-text reports. Please contact ask a librarian to request a report. Include the full title of the report in your request.
Technical notes: Contact us for assistance with downloading content from this database.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Frost & Sullivan."
Forrester produces reports on technology trends across a variety of industries including gaming. The Forrester Wave™ shows major players in and industry and Playbooks assist executives with implementing business processes. Note: You need to do a one-time registration using your umich.edu email to access this database.
International Data Corporation (IDC) is a market intelligence firm that produces reports on information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology markets, including gaming. These include reports on trends, technology updates, forecasts, major players, vendors, markets and market shares, use cases, and other IT related topics.
BCC has market research reports across many industries including: Biotechnology, Chemicals, Consumer Products, Energy, Engineering, Environment, Finance, Food and Beverage, Fuel Cell and Battery Technologies, Healthcare, Information Technology, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Materials, Medical Devices, Nanotechnology, Photonics, Plastics, and Semiconductors. It also includes “Franchise Profiles” of companies who franchise some of their locations.
eMarketer covers the digital marketplace with reports and charts on advertising spending by media, brand marketing, digital advertising, mobile apps, mobile devices, consumer behavior and experience, Ecommerce, social media usage and other topics.
Coverage includes consumer products, markets, and services. Statistics include product market size, company market share, and brand shares. Consumer behavior and economic factors are analyzed to identify future trends.