Bureau of Economic Analysis data links to a variety of consumer income and savings data. Check out the list on the left for related and additional data.
Mintel's Financial Services industry coverage includes the insurance and investment planning segments, and also related demographic data including age, ethnicity and lifestyle segments. Click on the consumer data and analytics tab to view and download related statistics from the research
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS. Examples of data included are Census data, Consumer Expenditure Survey and Nielsen Retail Market Power.
Technical notes: Users need to create their own account with @umich.edu email address in order to be able to save work.
Social Explorer contains data from the first Census in 1790 to the present day. Using their data, the user can generate maps of population or specific demographic variables by location, as well as reports.
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys, including the American Community and Housing surveys, the Economic Census and annual Commodity Flow Survey.
EMIS includes company profiles, news, market reports, country reports, and data on global emerging markets. EMIS is also a clearing house for several industry research and market firms such as Allied Market Research, Arizton Advisory and Intelligence, BIS Research, BMI Research, BuddeComm Telecom Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Reports, GlobalData, MarketLine, Mordor Intelligence, and Oxford Economics.
Technical notes: Users must create individual accounts in EMIS and login in order to download or export data from the database.
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.
Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Ross Alumni: Ross School of Business Alumni can purchase the full report for a 20% discount. Contact Kresge Library at kresge_library@umich.edu for more information.
FitchConnect is a robust and comprehensive credit analytics and macro intelligence platform providing users with credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service. Data includes up to 30 years history of fundamental financial data, 25 years of country risk data on over 200 countries, and sector reports for agribusiness, autos, banking & financial services, commodity prices, consumer & retail, consumer electronics, defense & security, oil & gas, insurance, food & drink, freight transport & shipping, information technology, infrastructure, medical devices, metals, mining, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals & healthcare, power, real estate, renewables, telecommunications, and tourism.
S&P Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies. Financial information for over 100,000 companies globally. Additional data on industries, capital structure, M&A, PE, fixed income, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, and company-level ownership information are also included. Historical and forecast macroeconomic data and historical data on over 270 commodities series, with some available to 1970.
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls.
