URP 390 Real Estate Development Fundamentals: Real Estate Financing

Real Estate Finance provides subscribers with the necessary information for making important decisions about structuring their real estate finance transactions. Coverage includes pricing REITS and mortgage-backed securities, valuing overseas investment opportunities, the latest in regulatory proposals and legislation, and real estate tax updates.

Research include the working and structure of markets, the role of various institutional arrangements, the attention given mortgages and asset securitization, risk management and valuation, and public policy and regulation.

Feature articles, interviews, business profiles, city/area reviews, financial news, legislation, lease transactions, sales and purchases and news of note aimed at professionals in commercial and industrial real estate.

Peer reviewed articles analyzing trends in the commercial real estate industry, as well as various topics such as development, brokerage, leasing, financing, property management, technology, investment, taxes, legal issues and regional markets.

Scholarly research on current and emerging real estate issues published for members of the American Real Estate & Urban Economics Association.

Moneygeek explains that rental properties can be a great source of income that appreciates over time. Before you dive into rental property investing, there are several items, costs and expenses to consider.

The paper compares three large-scale urban developments: Lingang, Shanghai, Corridors of Freedom, Johannesburg, and Old Oak Park Royal, London. The comparative analysis assesses the different business models - institutional arrangements, sources of financing - enabling each development.

Online access to the complete RSMeans Library including over 85,000 unit prices, 25,000 building assemblies and 42,000 facilities repair and remodeling costs covering every category of construction. It also includes a Construction Cost Estimator and a Square Foot Estimator.

RCA tracks commercial property transactions linked to investor and lender profiles. It provides subscribers a full micro to macro view of a chosen market. Users can view detailed information on a specific property or transaction, analyse it in context to the overall market and gain a big picture view by comparing trends within or across markets. For every statistic, you can drill down and see the deals and the properties that comprise it.
NOTE: This resource is only available through the Tozzi Center at the Ross School of Business. All services in this facility are reserved for the use of Michigan Ross students and faculty. Contact the Tozzi Center directly for access.

The PwC Investor Survey is an authoritative source for capitalization and discount rates, cash flow assumptions and actual criteria of active investors. Each quarterly survey issue contains: cash flow assumption data for select national and regional markets, Overall Cap Rate analysis, PwC Real Estate Barometer, Market pricing opinions, Valuation issues, and cash flow assumption data for niche national markets including Hospitality, Development land, Student housing, and Self storage. Kresge Library has a limited number of seats available. To access PwC Investor Survey, please email the Kresge Library (kresge_library@umich.edu).

CoreLogic aggregates data from individual, parcel-level real estate transactions and financial records. The MLibrary has licensed access to Tax, Deed, and Foreclosure data at the parcel level for every county in the United States.
NOTE: You need to fill out an online form to request access to this data set.

42 Floors has real time and historical data on commercial real estate in various cities and housing markets. It contains leasing and sale rates on office, retail, industrial, medical, and restaurant properties.

NAIOP provides advocacy, education and business opportunities in the commercial real estate development and investment industry. They publish several research reports including ones on the economic impact of commercial real estate development.