Community Consulting Club: CCC Research Guide Home

Company Directory, Company - Nonprofits
Description: This directory show provides the most comprehensive and accurate information on U.S. grant makers and their funding activities. Profiles of US Foundations describe the programs they offer, areas of funding, types of support, and grant recipients and amounts. It also includes Form 990 tax filings with the IRS. Also see: GuideStar.

GuideStar is the most complete source of information about U.S. charities and other nonprofit organizations. The directory includes profiles of nonprofits including mission, programs, financials, operations, and funding sources. It also includes Form 990 tax filings with the IRS. Also see: Foundation Directory Online

A personal account with your @umich.edu email is required to download from Guidestar. Downloads are limited to 1000 records per month. Users can register for an account while on a UM campus IP address or while connected to the UM VPN.

US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with varied applications. PolicyMap contains data on quality of life measurements, demographics, housing, finances, etc. They have also added COVID-19 specific maps. Data can be broken down by state, county, city, block group or census tract and data can be downloaded in Excel spreadsheet.

Use SimplyAnalytics to drill down into Detroit and the rest of the United States. Includes US Census, consumer and other data.

Use D&B Hoovers to identify companies by geography, industry, size and more. Includes public, private and subsidiary companies.