BA 476 American Business History: Citing and Managing Your Research

Business Resource Citation Guides

Harvard Business School Citation Guide

• An excellent resource from the Baker Library at Harvard Business School
• Includes citation guidelines for nearly every type of information resource, especially internet and news resources

Citing Business Databases in APA Style 

• From the University of North Carolina, Greensboro
• Useful guide that includes examples of citing major business databases in the APA style

Style Citation Guides

U-M Library Citation Help Research Guide 

• Covers how to cite in APA, MLA  and a variety of other styles
• Includes information on citing Government Documents and Data Sets

OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab 

• Purdue's comprehensive citation pages from the online writing lab  includes details on MLA, APA style and citation samples

Citation management software helps you:

• organize references, PDFs, and images
• take notes on references and PDFs
• format bibliographies and in-text citations in hundreds of citations styles
• share references and collaborate on projects with colleagues

The University Library's Manage Citations with Zotero, Mendeley and EndNote Guide provides information on using the three supported citation management software programs for the UM campus.

Be sure to visit the Ross Community Values site to ensure that you are not plagiarizing other's work.

From the Ross Academic Honor Code:

Plagiarism is the misrepresentation of another person's ideas, writing, or analytical work as one's own. It includes not only text, exhibits, and appendices, but also nontextual materials such as drawings, photographs, diagrams, graphs, tables, spreadsheets, and computer programs. Plagiarism is not limited to hard-copy materials, but also includes Web content or content recorded on any form of media. The most obvious form of plagiarism is the verbatim presentation of another person's work without both quotation marks and a proper citation. Less-obvious forms of plagiarism include using definitions of words or historical information with no citation indicating the source, paraphrasing another's writing without proper citation, or presenting another person’s ideas or work as one's own rather than including a proper citation. In one way or another, each of these constitutes stealing another person’s ideas or work. Of course, many assignments involve research to find relevant information needed to help fulfill the requirements of the assignment. Plagiarism can be avoided by providing enough information about the source of the work, whether a hard-copy document or information found on the Web, to enable the reader to locate the original source and see the cited material in the context in which it was written.