It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BA 476 American Business History: Company and Industry Databases
D&B Hoovers has public and private company profiles for US and global companies. Profiles include company descriptions and history, financials and ratios, hierarchy/corporate family tree data, SWOT analysis, news, competitors, SIC industry codes, NAICS industry codes, SEC filings, and annual reports. The “Build a List” function allows users to create a company list based on numerous parameters
and filters. Industry content includes constituents and analysis that include RMA Industry Norms, MarketLine Industry Profiles, and Fredonia Focus reports.
Technical notes: Company lists downloads are limited to 100 records. If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting using the “UM users” link or at a later time.
Technical note:If you encounter a login screen, all seats are in use. Try connecting at a later time. Subscription includes 25 seats which are shared across all 3 UM campuses.
PrivCo contains business and financial research for over 600,000 non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. Search for Venture Capital (VC) fundings, private Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A) deals, Private Equity (PE) deals, and general company information. Private company profiles contain financials, corporate structure, key contacts, investors and industry information.
Technical notes: Personal account using @umich.edu email required.
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.
Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Ross Alumni: Ross School of Business Alumni can purchase the full report for a 20% discount. Contact Kresge Library at email@example.com for more information.
ESG Direct from MSCI ESG Research LLC rates companies according to corporate social responsibility issues using environmental, social, and governance (ESG) ratings. Ratings and analyst insights are based on company initiatives, exposure, and controversies. This database also provides risk exposure indicators and risk management indicators for key components of ESG issues in each industry.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase "Used with permission of MSCI ESG Research."
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading and supply chain for US and foreign companies. Mergent Online also provides access to Investext analyst reports. Help guide
Technical notes: Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.
Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Coverage dates range from 1909-present. The collection includes:
Moody's/Mergent Corporate, Municipal, & Government Manuals
Dun & Bradstreet's Key Business Ratios
Million Dollar Directory
Historical US, Canadian, & International Company Annual Reports
Mergent Country & Country Risk Reports
Who Owns Whom
Technical notes: Most publications available only as a PDF download. These files can be quite large.