Kresge Research Guides: BCOM 557 Business Communication for Managers: Getting Started

BCOM 557 Kresge Guide

This BCOM 557 Kresge Guide will help you find the right databases for your class assignments. Kresge Librarians are here to help. Feel free to contact us, our email address is kresge_library@umich.edu and you can also use the Chat feature on the Kresge Library webpage.

Also, feel free to contact me with any questions or to set up a meeting for your team : Librarian Sally Ziph at sweston@umich.edu

Find Journal Articles

Use keywords like professional or managerial communication, memorandum, presentation, business writing
Use the "Sort by" drop down to sort your results by relevance.

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains articles from thousands of newspapers, trade publications, and key business magazines such as the Harvard Business Review. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Business Source Complete."
ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
Email and RSS feed alerts available.

Business Communication Journals Available in Business Source Complete Database

Search these Publications in Business Source Complete (see Find Journal Articles Box). Use Advanced Search for best results.

Business Communication Quarterly

International Journal Of Marketing & Business Communication

Journal Of Business Communication

International Journal Of Business Communication

Corporate Communications: An International Journal

Management Communication Quarterly

Business & Professional Communication Quarterly

Communication Skills For Managers, 5th Edition

Kresge Library Databases Overview

Industry Databases

IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes:Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.

Business Communication E-Books

Title: Business Writing

Author: Forsyth, Patrick

Published: London : Legend Press Chicago : Independent Publishers Group [Distributor]

Link: Available online

Title: Business writing by Natalie Canavor.

Author: Canavor, Natalie, 1942-

Published: 2017 - Hoboken, New Jersey : John Wiley & Sons,

Link: Available online

Source: Access to the Safari books online online version restricted; authentication may be required. Click "none of these" at the top of the institution list. You will be prompted to enter your umich.edu email. You should then get access.

Title: 10 steps to successful business writing Jack E. Appleman.

Author: Appleman, Jack E.

Published: 2018 - Alexandria, VA : ATD Press,

Link: Available online

Source: Access to the BusinessPro online version restricted; authentication may be required:

More business communication e-books are available. For help searching UM libraries at lib.umich.edu please contact librarian Sally Ziph at sweston@umich.edu